Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Research Resources for Alumni

For graduates of SUNY New Paltz who would like to continue their research.

Library Cards for Alumni

If you are an alumni, you can apply for a Friends of the Library card if you would like to borrow books and other materials from the library.  You may use Sojourner Truth Library's collection in-house, with the exception of Reserve Items.

To borrow library materials, you will need to complete a Friends of the Library photo-ID application form, available at the Check-Out Desk on the main floor of the library; and to pay an annual administrative fee.

Lost cards may be replaced at a cost of $10.00. Borrower privileges are $30.00 per year. You will be notified as your renewal date approaches. These fees may be paid in cash, or by check made payable to "SUNY New Paltz Foundation."  Please keep your receipt.

The card enables you to borrow five books. Loan periods are four weeks.

Borrowing privileges will continue as long as library regulations are observed. Unreturned materials, outstanding fines, or unpaid lost book fees will result in the immediate suspension of privileges.

A Friends of the Library card does not give you access to ILLiad (interlibrary loan for articles and books). However, you can usually work through your local public library for interlibrary loan. 

We appreciate the opportunity to assist you with your research needs and look forward to your patronage.

 

Accessing Databases, e-Journals, ebooks

Alumni do not have off-campus access privileges to most on-line databases and electronic journals. Our vendor/publisher licenses do not permit off-site access to licensed resources to those who are not current students, faculty, or staff. However, on-site access to these resources can be obtained by requesting a temporary guest login account.

There are two databases made available off-campus by the Library to Alumni. They are Academic Search Alumni Edition and Business Source Alumni Edition. Alumni should access these databases from within my.newpaltz.edu

Academic Search Alumni Edition databaseDesigned for the academic-based research needs of the post-college professional, this database provides full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals—as well as thousands of peer-reviewed indexed and abstracted journals.

Business Source Alumni Edition database:  Provides more than 1,450 full-text business magazines and journals, of which over 700 are peer-reviewed.  Also contains additional full-text sources include country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles and more.

 Within my.newpaltz.edu there are links to open access databasesThese databases may be freely accessed by the general public. You can also access these by clicking on the Open Access Databases tab above.