LibGuides: Biology: Find Books

STL Catalog

Use the STL Catalog to find physical and electronic books, videos, journals, magazines and other materials owned by the Sojourner Truth Library. Search by author, title, subject, or keyword (All Fields).

*Helpful hint* Scholarly books always have an extensive bibliography and/or rich footnotes. Seek out the references that are listed in these books. Not only will this save you time but in many cases, you will be referred to other reliable sources.

Search STL and other Libraries with WorldCat

WorldCat Advanced Search
Allows you to search our library and thousands of others. If you find materials in other libraries that you would like to use you can request them via Interlibrary Loan.

Call Numbers

Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections.

Here is a general listing of call number areas for Biology, or you can browse the following areas:

QH - Natural History, Biology
QK - Botany
QL - Zoology
QM - Human Anatomgy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology

Is your book on Reserve?

Search Course Reserves
If your professor states that material you must read for class is in the library, chances are it is on reserve. To find the book or film you need, search the Library Course Reserves Catalog.

Help us build our collection with materials you need!

Book or Media Purchase Recommendation Form

We encourage faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students to recommend book and video titles.

Find Ebooks with Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of books.
ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
over 60,000 free full text e-books

Internet Archive
Search historical and contemporary books, films and more archived on the Internet archive

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz