Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Persistent URLs

Describes how to create persistent links to library-licensed resources.

Need Help?

If you have any questions regarding creating persistent links to library-licensed resources, please contact the Information Desk by phone: (845) 257-3710.

Step by Step

 You may link to full-text articles from Blackboard, your syllabus, or a webpage. Simply copying the location from the address bar of your browser will not work. It may appear to work initially, but the links are not persistent. Follow the directions below to create permanent or persistent links to articles in the library databases.

The following text must be added at the beginning of all links so that the links will work off campus:

https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

 

Example:
Persistent URL to JSTOR article:
http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0039-7989%28197106%2920%3A2%3C167%3AABATTS%3E2.0.CO%3B2-0

Persistent URL with authentication URL:
https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=http://links.jstor.org/sici?sici=0039-7989%28197106%2920%3A2%3C167%3AABATTS%3E2.0.CO%3B2-0

Step-by-Step: How to create links to articles in SUNY New Paltz library databases

1. Make sure there is a stable or persistent URL for the article you have found. Check the List of databases that provide persistent URLs for the database that contains your article. If your database is included in the list, you may copy and share the persistent link provided in the article record. If you want more information on how to check the list of databases and locate the persistent link in the article record, view this short video created by the Florida Gulf Coast University.

2. Determine whether the persistent link you found will work from outside the SUNY New Paltz network (off-campus). A simple way to determine if the link will work, check for the proxy prefix in the URL. Does the URL or link that you found have the word "libdatabase.newpaltz.edu" somewhere in it?

If yes, the link will work outside the campus network and is ready to be copied, saved or shared.

If no, the following text must be added at the beginning of all links so that the links will work off campus: https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

The converted URL now is your persistent link and can be copied, saved, or shared for later use.

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

1. Why can't I just copy the address from the address bar to save a link to an article?
Web addresses, or URLs (Uniform Resource Locator) that appear in the address bar of your web browser may contain session-based or search-based information that causes the URL to not work later. This is especially true of the URLs that appear when searching a database. This is why many online databases provide a separate perisistent or stable link in each record for an article.

 

2. What is a persistent Link?
A persistent link is a URL that will remain stable over time and allows a user to access the linked document later. View a brief tutorial created by the Florida Gulf Coast University
.

 

3. How do I find persistent links in online databases?
Some research databases include a persistent or durable link in the article record. Please note that the terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. View the List of Databases that provide persistent URLs for detailed information on how to locate persistent links or view
this brief tutorial (made by the Florida Gulf Coast University) for a visual introduction.

 

4.How do I know if a persistent link will work from outside the SUNY New Paltz campus network?
In order for a link to an article to work from outside the SUNY New Paltz campus network, it must contain special coding that will allow SUNY New Paltz users to access the article using their NPCUID. Follow these steps to determine if your persistent link will work off campus.

Does the URL or link that you found have the word "libdatabase.newpaltz.edu" somewhere in it?
If yes, the link is ready to be saved or shared.

If no, the following text must be added at the beginning of all links so that the links will work off campus: https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

Adding this text will not allow non-SUNY New Paltz affiliates to access online library-licensed resources.  Only SUNY New Paltz students, staff, and faculty with valid NPCUID have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.

5. How can I use a persistent link?
You can paste the URL into Blackboard or other documents.

  • Tip: Avoid saving URLs in Microsoft Word documents. Word often adds extra code that can render the URL useless. This is especially true when you copy a URL from Word into a web interface like Blackboard. Always try to copy and paste the URL directly into the destination document.

TIPS:

1. Persistent URLs should appear on one complete  line. If there are any line breaks in the URL, then there is a space somewhere in your pasted address. When you copy/paste URLs, make sure there is not a space at the beginning of the address, before the http.

2. If you access a database from off-campus, the persistent or durable link to an article within that database may already be configured for off-campus access! If a durable or persistent link within a database includes "libdatabase.newpaltz.edu" at the beginning of the URL, then you can simply copy and paste that URL into your page without adding the text.

3. If you do not find any link labeled as "durable" or "persistent" in the citation, then you might be able to use the URL that appears either in the address box of your web browser or somewhere else in the article's description. Just add the following text to the beginning of all links so that the links will work off campus: https://libdatabase.newpaltz.edu/login?url=

Always check your converted links from off-campus to make sure they work!