Elementary Education

The Books about Education are generally in the STACKS, on the second, or Concourse level. 

Most books about education begin with a CALL NUMBER that starts with an "L".

Library of Congress Call Numbers tell you what the book is about.

Click HERE to Search our Catalog

REMEMBER:

MEDIA & MUSIC collections are found on the library's Main Floor.

STACKS books with call numbers A - NX are found on the Middle or CONCOURSE level.

STACKS books with call numbers P - Z are found on the GROUND floor

The CONCOURSE is also home to the JUVENILE collection

YES!  Our Children's Collection is located on the Concourse Level.

• We call it the "Juvenile Collection"
• We interfile our Children's and Young Adult books into one collection
• We organize the books using the Library of Congress system, just like the other books in the library

SEARCH for Juvenile Books: Use the ADVANCED SEARCH tool in our catalog.  Click "Juvenile" from the MORE COLLECTIONS menu

Reference books are tools we "refer" to, to give us a general understanding of a topic.  Don't underestimate the power of a well-written, scholarly essay, some statistics and historical background.  You'll be glad you found them before heading to the journal literature.

Reference books in Education are found on the library's MAIN FLOOR, and most of the reference tools you'll encounter will have a cALL NUMBER that begins with an L.

There are some exceptions, though. 

• For projects involving families or social issues in Education, browse the H call number area.
• For projects involving psychology or Child psychology, browse the BF call number area

CLICK HERE to search our catalog.  Limit your search to the Referenmce collection by choosing REFERENCE COLLECTION  from the MORE COLLECTIONS menu.

 Search these collections for electronic books that can be viewed on your computer. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Click database title for full list of GVRL Resources

• E.g., Dictionary of American History
• E.g., American Decades
• E.g., Countries and Their Cultures
• E.g., Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
• E.g., West's Encyclopedia of American Law
• E.g., Encyclopedia of Education
• E.g., Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
• E.g., International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family