LibGuides: Student Research Guide: 2e. Find Images

ARTstor

ARTstor Digital Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital images and information about works of visual art, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many times and cultures. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.

Mom, Janet Fish, 1990. ARTstor Digital Collection

Open Access Image Collections

The image collections listed below may be used for personal and educational purposes. PLEASE NOTE: if you’re not sure whether you can legally use an image, speak to your professor or ask for the permission of the image copyright holder.

Flickr: The Commons was launched on January 16 2008 and was released in partnership with The Library of Congress. The program 's two main objectives are to increase access to publicly-held photography collections and to provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge.

Wikimedia Commons is a database of 22,479,475 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery is The New York Public Library's image database, "developed to provide free and open online access to hundreds of thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of The Library. The collection includes drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, and rare illustrated books."---NYPL website

Art Collections Online: Museums and Digital Archives

Archives of American Art at the Smithsonian Institution
World’s most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

Yoko Ono, John Lennon and Andy Warhol, 1971 June 5 / David Bourdon, photographer. David Bourdon papers, Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Database
This collection contains works of art and related materials from the permanent collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Individual records often include detailed information about objects as well as images. Searchable by artist, title, subject, or other keywords.
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts
Portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images, as well as a series of learning and teaching resources written by subject specialist authors and lecturers.
Digital Imaging Project: Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern
Google Art Project
This is an unusual collaboration between Google and some of the world's great art museums. Navigate through virtual floor plans or view individual works of art. Although these images are not downloadable, this is still a wonderful resource and research tool.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz