Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Citations

This guide includes tips and tools for citing in MLA, APA, Chicago and other citation styles.

MLA Style

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide: From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University, this is one of the most comprehensive online citation guides available.  Includes in-text citations, sample papers, works cited pages, annotated bibliographies, and dozens of examples for every possible source type.

The Writer's Handbook MLA Documentation Guide: Similar in scope and content to the OWL, this guide from the Writing Center @ the University of Wisconsin - Madison is especially useful for unusual citation formats for multi media, government publications, personal interviews, email, etc.

Citation Fox: From the University Libraries at SUNY Albany, this instructional model creates citation examples through user guided selection. This is an interesting guide with many hard to find source types such as cartoons, musical scores, live performances, visual arts, etc. Note: this guide does not include documentation on parenthetical (int-text) citations.

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing in the STL Reference Collection

Research and Documentation Online, 5th Edition: While not strictly a citation guide, this comprehensive style manual includes citation help for MLA, APA, and Chicago Style, sample papers, and subject guides for recommended resources.

APA Style

Purdue OWL APA Formatting and Style Guide: From the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University, this is one of the most comprehensive online citation guides available.  Includes in-text citations, sample papers, reference lists, annotated bibliographies, and dozens of examples for every possible source type.

Citation Fox:  From the University Libraries at SUNY Albany, this instructional model creates examples through user guided selection.  This is an interesting guide with numerous examples of new media such as blog postings, podcasts, online videos, etc. Note:  like the Fox MLA guide, this does not include documentation on parenthetical (in-text) citations.

The Writer's Handbook APA Documentation Guide: Similar in scope and content to the OWL, this guide from the Writing Center @ the University of Wisconsin - Madison includes an introduction to parenthetical (in-text) citations, print and electronic citations, sample reference lists, and manuscript formatting.

The Basics of APA Style: This tutorial from the American Psychological Association includes in-text citations, reference lists, manuscript formatting, and links to sample papers.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association in the STL Reference Collection

Chicago Style

Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition: This is one of the few online guides that places note and bibliography citations together, highlighting the different formats.  Note: this guide is recommended for the Notes and Bibliography documentation system only. For the Author Date system select one of the other guides listed below.

Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date System: This easy to use compact guide from Williams College Libraries contains examples of in-text and reference list citations.

The Chicago Manual of Style in the STL Reference Collection

Citing Social Media

This simple chart from teachbytes.com introduces basic guidelines for social media citations. For a comprehensive overview, refer to the appropriate style manual or online guide.