Skip to Main Content

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz

Digital Scholarship in Music

Application of digital, computational or computer resources to the study of music history, theory or performance.

Poll: How do you use digital technologies in music?

I use....

Transcription software: 0 votes (0%)

Notation software (e.g., Sibelius): 1 votes (50%)

I hardcode whatever I need: 1 votes (50%)

Total Votes: 2

From our Collection

Modern Methods for Musicology by Lorna Gibson; Tim Crawford
ISBN: 9780754673026
Publication Date: 2009-08-28
Music Navigation with Symbols and Layers by Denis L. Baggi; Goffredo M. Haus
ISBN: 9780470597163
Publication Date: 2013-04-08
Time and Space in Words and Music by Mario Dunkel (Editor); Emily Petermann (Editor)
ISBN: 9783631606988
Publication Date: 2012-10-18
Music Sociology by Sara Towe Horsfall (Editor); Jan-Martijn Meij (Editor); Meghan D. Probstfield (Editor)
ISBN: 9781612053127
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
The Rhythmic Event by Eleni Ikoniadiou
ISBN: 9780262027649
Publication Date: 2014-07-18
Playing with Sound by Karen Collins
ISBN: 9780262018678
Publication Date: 2013-01-11

Organizations and Initiatives

IAML: International Association of Music Libraries
ISMIR: International Society for Music Retrieval
MEI: Music Encoding Initiative
The Music21 initiative and Toolkit
The c.m.m.e. Project: Computerized Mensural Music Editing
CANTUS
Corpus Monodicum
CUNY [DH] Digital Praxis Seminar Resource List
DDMAL: Distributed Digital Music Archives & Libraries Lab
The Josquin Research Project
The Italian Madrigal Resource Center
MARL: Music Informatics Lab at NYU
Digital Du Chemin
Archive of Seventeenth-Century Italian Madrigals and Arias (ASCIMA)
Marenzio Online Edition
Neon.js: Browser-based notation program designed for chant notation
Gallica: The French National Library Digital Collection
Includes a large digital score and musical autograph collection
Library of Congress Historic Sheet Music Collection
PRAAT: Linguistic Analysis software
A Free software download that can be used for spectral analysis of monodies
Praat for musicologists tutorial (Wim Vandermeer)
CHARM Mazurka: Music Data Visualization
Timescapes, keyscapes, dynascapes.
Cytoscape: network analysis and visualization tools
Sonic Visualizer: spectrograms and more. Downloadable software.
Music Ontology
A framework and software tools for describing music data and making it available on web pages.

Liaison Librarian

Stephan Macaluso

Email Me

Contact:

Info Desk (845) 257-3710

Notation Software Manuals and Coding Books we use often

Black Hat Python by Justin Seitz
ISBN: 9781593275907
Publication Date: 2014-12-14
GIS Tutorial for Python Scripting by David W. Allen
ISBN: 9781589483569
Publication Date: 2014-07-24
Beginning XML by Joe Fawcett; Danny Ayers; Liam R. E. Quin
ISBN: 9781118162132
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Sibelius 7 Music Notation Essentials by Paul Humberstone; James Humberstone
ISBN: 9781133788829
Publication Date: 2012-02-08
Mastering Sibelius by Marc Schonbrun
ISBN: 9781598634266
Publication Date: 2008-07-10

Digital scores, etc. : Archives, repositories, databases

Yale University Metalist of digital collections
The Global Music Archive (Sound recordings)
Searchable collection of field recordings from all over the world. REAL PLAYER required for most recordings.
Mills Library (U Wisconsin - Madison) Digital Collections
Historical sheet music, folk and popular recordings

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2016 3:32 PM
URL: https://newpaltz.libguides.com/c.php?g=346286
Print Page

Subjects: Music