LibGuides: ARH345 Art in Modern China (E. Brotherton): Get Started with Reference Works

eReference: Online Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works published by Gale Group
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
electronic versions of books including encyclopedias, handbooks & dictionaries
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
authoritative full text encyclopedias.

Bibliography of Contemporary Chinese Art from Stanford University

Bibliography of Contemporary Chinese Art Including Mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Diaspora
This bibliography is organized in two sections: Part 1 includes a comprehensive general bibliography spanning Chinese art from the 19th – 21st centuries. Part 2 includes individual sections on 1500 artists. Use this resource as a starting point to locate print and electronic resources in the STL catalog and WorldCat.

Oxford Art Online

Xu Bing: A Book from the Sky, mixed media installation with hand-printed books, ceiling and wall scrolls, 1987–91; photo courtesy of the artist

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
an encyclopedia with art & architecture-related topics. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.

QuickSearch Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a unique database that allows you to search the back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference material, both print and electronic, that can be found in the Sojourner Truth Library Reference Collection.

Quick Search Reference Universe

Enter terms:

To quick search Reference Universe:

Enter your topic (e.g., Hua Tunan) into the search box.
Select an item from the results that appears to offer a useful overview or summary related to the topic.
Note the reference source's title, call number, and the page number for the reference article.
Go to the Reference Collection in the library and find your item (by call number) and article (by page)
Evaluate the usefulness of the item to your research needs.

Click here to do more controlled searches of Reference Universe.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz