Last Updated: Feb 26, 2013
You already have identified a preliminary topic for your research paper. With the sources covered during this library session, you should be able to:
1.) Identify authoritative sources relevant to your topic .
2.) Focus your topic.
3.) Develop a new topic if necessary.
The STL subscribes to many electronic Reference book collections through various library databases
Service available to SUNY New Paltz students & faculty when the Information Desk is staffed. Books must contain "Ref" in the call number, such as Encyclopedia of India [Ref DS405 .E556 2006 ]
Copies are to be used only for study and research.
Copyright law is observed. During busy times, the patron may be asked to pick up copies at a later time. Not more than 20 pages of the Reference Book may be copied. Please fill out the Free Reference Copy Request form at the Information Desk.
Use Reference Books, such as encyclopedias, to get a general overview of your topic. Understanding basic background information helps you to begin your research. Reference sources generally provide several things:
- Background information & Brief, factual overviews
- Information about important dates, events, and people
- Terminology and definitions
- Articles written by authors with exertise in the subject matter.
- Bibliographies of sources for further reading.
Here are some good starting places to gather biographical information, overviews, and some critical information:
- Reference Universe: good for searching selected reference e-books, as well as the indexes of books in the library's print Reference Collection.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works published by Gale Group.
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Call Number: Ref HQ784.M3 E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
"From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the media and their effect on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. These books present state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. With more than 400 entries, the two volumes of this resource cover the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact -- for good and ill -- on children and adolescents....
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: Ref HF5803 .A38 2003
Publication Date: 2002
For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the The"Advertising Age." Featuring nearly 600 extensively illustrated entries, The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising provides detailed historic surveys of the world's leading agencies and major advertisers, as well as brand and market histories; it also profiles the influential men and women in advertising, overviews advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field, and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy, and theory. Also includes a color insert.
Food safety: a Reference Handbook
Call Number: Ref TX531 .R44 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Food Safety: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition provides a broad, readable, and level-headed overview of these and other food safety controversies. Through a combination of statistics and substantive information, it delineates the nature and scope of the issues. It also introduces readers to the researchers, activists, industries, and government agencies that play a role in the battle for food safety—an issue that impacts us all.
Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast Food
Call Number: Ref TX370 .S63 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This ready reference explores the American obsession with junk food and fast food through products, corporations and entrepreneurs, social history, popular culture, organizations, issues, politics, commercialism and consumerism, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
Call Number: Ref HF5415.3 .E527 1994
Publication Date: 1994
The 3-vol. Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands is the first reference of its kind to compile the origin, evolution and current market status of some of the world's most recognizable consumer brands. It's unrivaled comprehensive scope and generous article length make it a valuable reference for students, librarians, job seekers, advertising and business professionals and other researchers who want to learn about the historical and modern development of products that have impacted American culture.
Each volume of the Encyclopedia contains approximately 200 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Peppered throughout are fun facts and amusing anecdotes pertaining to the famous -- or infamous -- marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture the sometimes jaded viewers' attention.