LibGuides: Business: Find Articles

Article Databases

The following databases are your "best bets" for finding journal articles:

ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text scholarly journal articles as well as trade journals and industry newsletters, regional business news, magazines, and newspaper articles published worldwide (“Wall Street Journal” 1984-today).
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and includes full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Additional full-text non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, country-specific industry reports, case studies, market research reports,country reports, and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.

Step 1: From library website, click on the "Databases" tab and click on the "Or find a specific database", and select Business Source Complete

If Off-Campus: You’ll need to log in with your NPCUID & password after you click on the database link.

Step 2: Go to Advanced Search

Select the “Advanced Search” link underneath the search boxes in the Business Source Complete Database

Step 3: Search for Your Article

The following screenshot illustrates a search for this sample article:

Levitt, T. (1960). Marketing Myopia. Harvard Business Review, 38(4), 45-56.

Step 4: Locate the Full-Text of Your Article

Note: Selected articles in HBR are “read-only”: they must be read on the screen and cannot be saved, printed, emailed, or linked to.

There are a couple of rules that all the databases tend to follow.

Search using key concepts rather than complete sentences
- For example, don't use "Does advertising on social media drive up sales for small shoe companies?"
- Use "Advertising AND "social media" AND sales AND shoes"
Put phrases such as "social media" in quotes.
Connect concepts using AND. This tells the database to find articles containing all of the words connected by AND.
On the left or right side of each database is a number of checkboxes. These are similar to the filters used in online shopping sites like Amazon: they zoom in on the exact type of product (or in this case, article) that you need.