Accounting Search Terms
When searching the library catalog for books or other items in the library, use some of these terms:
Accounting
Amoritization
Auditing
Debits
Financial Statements
Liabilities (Accounting)
Managerial accounting
Productivity accounting
Sales accounting
Accounting Standards
- Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASB)
Promulgates federal accounting standards after considering the financial and budgetary information needs of citizens, congressional oversight groups, executive agencies, and the needs of other users of federal financial information. - Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
The mission of the FASB is to establish and improve standards of financial accounting and reporting for the guidance and education of the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of financial information. - Government Accounting Standards Board
Establishes and improves standards of state and local governmental accounting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports. - International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Develops in the public interest, a single set of high quality, understandable and international financial reporting standards (IFRSs) for general purpose financial statements. - International Federation of Accountants
IFAC is committed to protecting the public interest by developing high quality international standards, promoting strong ethical values, encouraging quality practice, and supporting the development of all sectors of the profession around the world. - Public Company Accounting Oversight Baord (PCAOB)
Oversees the auditors of pubclic companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, fair and independent audit reports.
The Big Four Accounting Firms
Evaluating Websites
![]()
When evaluating a website for reliability, consider its URL Address ending:
.com - Company selling something
.org - Nonprofit, but has an agenda
.gov - Government site
.edu - Educational institution
.net - Personal site
A company will most likely give a rosy view of what it is claiming according to its agenda. A nonprofit organization is not selling something, but will most likely give an opinion that is coherent with its own agenda. Government and educational sites tend to be objective and cite claims. Personal sites require no authoritative background to post information.
Other criteria for evaluating sites are mispellings, poor grammar, no citations, incorrect citation format.
Keep in mind that when surfing the web, no credentials are required to post information, only software and access to server space are needed.
Accounting Reference Books in the Library
A sampling of accounting handbooks available at the library.
Accounting Ethics - Ronald F. Duska and Brenda Shay Duska
Call Number: Stacks HF5625.15.D87 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 0631216510
Accounting Ethics uses concrete examples and case studies, including current situations such as the Enron/Arthur Andersen debacle, to examine the ethical responsibilities of individual accountants as well as accounting firms. Offers a comprehensive overview of ethics in accounting, as well as an examination of and recommendations for solving the current crisis in this field.
Accounting Reference Desktop - Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: Stacks HF5657.4.B7195 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0471391832
Discusses issues not covered in other books, including best practices budgeting, closing the books, and control systems. Includes interest factor tables, sample forms for data entry, sample report formats for internal as well as external reports. Features flowcharts and checklists for key control points in the major accounting processes.
Business Ratios and Formulas: a comprehensive guide - Steven Bragg
Call Number: Ref HF5691.B73 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0470055170
For business managers, this guide outlines how to measure corporate performance and select the best measurement tools for the accounting, engineering, logistics, production, and sales departments.
Annual Reports 101: what the numbers and the fine print can reveal about the true health of a company - Michael C. Thomsett
Call Number: Stacks HG4028.B2 T47
ISBN/ISSN: 0814473679
Thomsett, a former accountant and financial consultant, explains annual reports and how to understand the information presented in them.
How to read a financial statement - R.D. Norton
Call Number: Stacks HF5667.65.N67 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0913610518
"This edition was prepared by R.D. Norton and includes a complete update of the sample statements and related analysis, as well as two chapters that cover the Enron-era accounting scandals, Sarbanes-Oxley, and accounting issues raised by the subprime mortgage mess"--P. i.
Management Accountant's Standard Desk Reference - Jae K. Shim
Call Number: Stacks HF5657.4.S55 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1906403074
The Management Accountant's Standard Desk Reference is a working guide that will assist practitioners in quickly pinpointing and solving problems.
A Guide to Forensic Accounting Investigation - Thomas W. Golden
Call Number: Stacks HV8079.F4 G65 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0471469076
Golden et al., from PricewaterhouseCoopers, present a guide to corporate fraud deterrence, detection, and investigation and the roles of corporate directors, management, auditors, and investigators.
Accounting Best Practices - Steven M. Bragg
Call Number: Stacks HF5635.B818 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0470081821
Bragg draws from experience running and consulting for accounting departments in companies of varying sizes to offer accountants whose education mainly covered rules and regulations 395 best practices for running a cost-effective department, 61 of which are new to this 5th edition.
Basic Accounting Concepts, Principles, and Procedures - Gregory R. Mostyn
Call Number: Stacks HF5636.M75 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0979149487
Volume 1 is the first of two self-study volumes that provide a complete introduction to financial accounting concepts, principles, and procedures.
The Complete Guide to Sarbanes-Oxley: understanding how Sarbanes-Oxley affects your business - Stephen M. Bainbridge
Call Number: Stacks KF1446.Z9 B35 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 1598692674
Routledge Companion to Accounting History - John Richard Edwards and Stephen Pl Walker (ed.)
Call Number: Stacks HF5605.R68 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 0415410940
The Routledge Companion to Accounting History reveals that the seemingly innocuous practice of accounting has pervaded human existence in fascinating ways at numerous times and places; from ancient civilisations to the modern day, and from the personal to the political.
LexisNexis Database
The LexisNexis database contains some accounting reference resources. You can search through the full text of publications from American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and other journals, as well as the most current edition of the Miller Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) Guides.
Accounting Resources
- American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
- CPA.net
Collection of links relating to accounting and finance issues. Categories include professional resources, financial reporting, international and government accounting, and accounting software. - Rutgers Accounting Web
One of the largest accounting sites. Lists professional associations, tax analysis information and links to government agencies.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait