Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog for books on your topic
- How to search the Library Catalog- video
- How to renew online - video
Reference Universe
The Reference Universe database can be used to find information within reference books, including specialized encyclopedias and other Reference sources. PLEASE NOTE: Clicking on the title will open the library catalog, but clicking on the index link below it will provide information about your search results.
- Reference Universeindexes for over 5,000 reference books
Online Books
- Humanities E-book Projectover 3,300 fulltext books online
- Project Gutenbergover 25,000 free full text e-books
- EbraryA collection of 68,000+ ebooks in a wide range of academic subject areas.
Call Numbers
The Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections.
Here is a general listing of call number areas for Political Science:
J - General legislative and executive papers
JA - Political Science (General)
JC - Political Theory
JF - Political Institutions and public administration
JJ - Political Institutions and public administration (North America)
JK - Political Institutions and public administration (United States)
JL - Political Institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN - Political Institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ - Political Institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS - Local government. Municipal government
JV - Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International law, See JZ and KZ
JZ - International Relations
Search the Catalog with Worldcat Local
More Reference Books
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- The American political dictionary [REF JK9 .P55 1997]
- Black's law dictionary [RESERVE COLLECTION KF156 .B53 1999]
- Brewer's politics:a phrase and fable dictionary [REF JA61 .C65 1993]
- Congressional Quarterly's desk reference on American government [REF JK274 .W449 1995]
- The dictionary of 20th-century world politics [ REF JA61 .S53 1993]
- Encyclopedia of American government [REF JK9 .E52 1998]
- Encyclopedia of American political history [REF E183 .E48 2001]
- Encyclopedia of American political history / Studies of the principal movements and ideas
[REF E183 .E5 1984] - Encyclopedia of the American left [REF HX86 .E58 1998]
- Encyclopedia of political economy [REF HB61 .E554 1999]
- The encyclopedia of the Republican Party;The encyclopedia the Democratic Party
[REF JK2352 .K87 1996] - Safire's political dictionary [REF JK9 .S2 1978]
Executive Branch
- Encyclopedia of the American presidency [REF JK511 .E53 1994]
- Guide to the presidency [REF JK516 .C57 1996]
- The Presidency A to Z:a ready reference encyclopedia [REF JK511 .P775 1992]
Legislative Branch
- Congressional Quarterly's American congressional dictionary [REF JK9 .K73 1993]
- Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress [REF JK1021 .C565 2000]
- Congressional Quarterly's politics in America [STACKS JK1010 .P64]
latest volume kept in reference - Encyclopedia of the American Constitution [REF KF4548 .E53 2000]
- Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments and amending issues,
1789-2002 [REF KF4557 .V555 2003] - The encyclopedia of the United States Congress [REF JK1067 .E63 1995]
- United States code annotated [REF KF65 .W48]
- United States code congressional and administrative news [REF KF48 .U6]
Judicial Branch
- Encyclopedia of the American judicial system [REF KF154 .E53 1987]
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court [REF KF8742 .A35 E53 2001]
- Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court [REF KF8742 .W567 1997]
- Landmark decisions of the United States Supreme Court [REF KF8742 .H24 1991]
- The Supreme Court A to Z:a ready reference encyclopedia [REF KF8742.A35 S8 1998]
- United States reports [US DOCS (Main Floor) GP 3.22/2:025/]
States
- McKinney's Consolidated laws of New York, annotated [REF KFN5030 1938 .A25]
- The New York State directory [REF JK3430 .N49]
- State constitutions of the United States [REF KF4530 .M33 1998]
- State legislative sourcebook [REF JK2495 .S689]
International
- Crimes of war:what the public should know [REF K5301 .C75 1999]
- Encyclopedia of American foreign policy [REF E183.7 .E52 2002]]
- Encyclopedia of conflicts since World War II [REF D843 .C568 1999]
- The encyclopedia of political revolutions [REF JC491 .E63 1998]
- Encyclopedia of the European Union [REF JN30 .E52 1998]
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations [REF KZ4968 .M66 2002]
- The encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements [REF KZ4968 .O84 2003]
- Encyclopedia of United States foreign relations [REF E183.7 .E53 1997]
- The Europa world yearbook [STACKS JN1 .E85] - latest volume kept at Ref Desk
- Human rights:a reference handbook [REF K3240.4 .W46 1998]
- International conflict:a chronological encyclopedia of conflicts and their management,
1945-1995 [REF D842 .B46 1997] - Political handbook of the world [COMPACT SHELVING JF37 .P6] - latest volume in Ref
- The Statesman's year-book [STACKS JA51 .S7] - latest volume kept at Ref Desk
- World conflicts [REF D842 .B69 1998b]
Elections
Other Catalogs
Worldcat- Search for books in other libraries that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan

Loading...
