LibGuides: Political Science & International Relations: Find Articles

What is an article database?

Library article databases are indexes that allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).

The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts:

Citation - gives the publication information for the article or book chapter including author, title, periodical name, issue, date, and pages numbers.
Abstract - A brief summary of an article or book.
Full-text – when available, the complete copy of the article.

Search Selected PSIR Databases

Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
SAGE Humanities and Social Science This link opens in a new window
a collection of 419 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Coverage includes journals in business (organizational studies, organizational behavior, etc.), communication/media, criminology, education, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, philosophy, and social work
LexisNexis Academic (renamed Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
This database replaces LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current, full-text news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
access 3,000+ scholarly journals, magazines &newspapers - with full text and images

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz