This is the "Reference Shelf" page of the "PSY311- Research Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PSY311- Research Methods  

Resources to assist those students enrolled in Research Methods in Psychology.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2013 URL: http://newpaltz.libguides.com/psycresearchmethods Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Reference Shelf Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods - Paul J. Lavrakas (Editor)
Call Number: Available online
ISBN: 1412918081


Cover Art
Classic Experiments in Psychology - Douglas Mook
Call Number: Reference Collection BF198.7 .M66 2004


Cover Art
Handbook of Psychology, 12 Volume Set - Irving Weiner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference Collection BF121 .H1955 2003
ISBN: 9780471176695
Publication Date: 2003-01-09

 

Reference books

 Use Reference books for:

  • Background information about a topic.
  • Brief, factual overviews of topics.
  • Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
  • Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic.
  • Articles written by authors with exertise in the subject matter.
  • Bibliographies of sources for further reading.

Reference books are located on the Main Floor of the Sojourner Truth Library.

Finding print and electronic Reference books

Use the Advanced Search in the New Paltz Catalog to discover Reference books

The STL also subscribes to many electronic Reference book collections through various library databases 

      

    E-Reference

     

    QuickSearch Reference Universe

    Reference Universe is a unique database that allows you to search the back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference material, both print and electronic, that can be found in the Sojourner Truth Library Reference Collection.

     

    Quick Search Reference Universe
    Enter terms:

     

    To quick search Reference Universe:

    1. Enter your topic (e.g., immigration) into the search box.
    2. Select an item from the results that appears to offer a useful overview or summary related to the topic.
    3. Note the reference source's title, call number, and the page number for the reference article.
    4. Go to the Reference Collection in the library and find your item (by call number) and article (by page)
    5. Evaluate the usefulness of the item to your research needs.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Megan Coder
    Contact Info
    coderm@newpaltz.edu
    Send Email
     

    Free Reference book Photocopying

    Service available to SUNY New Paltz students & faculty when the Information Desk is staffed.  Books must contain "Ref" in the call number, such as Encyclopedia of India [Ref DS405 .E556 2006  ]

    Copies are to be used only for study and research. 

    Copyright law is observed.  During busy times, the patron may be asked to pick up copies at a later time.  Not more than 20 pages of the Reference Book may be copied.  Please fill out the Free Reference Copy Request form at the Information Desk. 

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip