Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Seminar in Critical Practice spring 2018

Text searching through Project Gutenberg

Click here to access an online edition of D.H. Lawrence's St. Mawr

Use your browser's Find In Page feature (CTRL-F) to locate these words in the text.  What do you discover?

Tip:  If you copy-paste, change the word(s) to all lowercase!

 

  • Beast
  • Animal
  • Bird
  • Spirit
  • Flesh
  • Ethic
  • Nature
  • Human
  • Life
  • Inhuman
  • Mechanical
  • Organic

 

The Island Of Doctor Moreau at Project Gutenberg

Look for the above words, and/or:

  • God
  • Moral
  • dign ("dignity", ""dignified")
  • Discovery
  • Love
  • Soul

 

 

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Look for the above words, and/or:

  • Hope
  • Idea
  • world
  • scream
  • fiend

 

Euthenics, or the Science of controllable environment by Ellen H. Richards

  • home
  • health
  • hygien ("hygiene", "hygienic")
  • control
  • disease
  • economy   
  • generation

 

 

 

 

"Which Databases will help me find information for this Project?"

This project incorporates more than just the primary documents (your texts) and secondary literature (articles, books and chapters) in English Literature. 

The themes suggested in your readings lend themselves to explorations in philosophy (ethics, morals, religion), the life sciences, and the history of science. 

Here are some databases that you should be aware of:

Reference Universe: An Index to much of our reference collection, including our electronic titles

Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary):  A collection of nearly 50,000 books, fully searchable and readable online! 

Gale Literature Resource Center: An online encyclopedia of literature, authors and more.  Links to reviews, excerpts and articles.

Science Direct: A giant database of articles in the sciences, incliuding the history of science

Project Muse: Multidisciplinary article database -- many use it to update JSTOR results

SAGE Humanities and Social Science: Articles in the sciences, history and social sciences

JSTOR:  An enormous article warehouse

MLA International Bibliography: The Premier database for locating books, chapters and articles in English literature and languages

Philosopher's Index: Philospophy, religion, ethics, metaphysics. 

Institute for Critical Animal Studies: Publishes an electronic journal with articles and book reviews from multiple disciplines about human-animal studies

NY Times Historical

Times Digital Archive