AnthropologyArt & Art HistoryArt EducationAsian StudiesBiologyBlack StudiesBusinessChemistryCommunication DisordersCommunication & MediaComputer ScienceCurrent Events/NewsEnvironmental StudiesEconomicsEducationEngineeringEnglish CompositionForeign LanguagesGeneral ResourcesGeographyGeologyHistoryLatin American StudiesLawLinguisticsLiteratureMathematicsMusicPhilosophyPhysicsPolitical Science & Int'l RelationsPsychologyReferenceSociologyTheaterWomen Studies
This is the "Databases A-Z" page of the "Databases by Title and Subject" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases by Title and Subject  

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name and discipline.
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://newpaltz.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases A-Z Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Page Contents

A  |  B |  C  |  D  |  E  |  F  |  G  |  H  |  I  |  J  |  K  |  L  |  M  |  N  |  O  |  P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

  • ABI/Inform Complete
    Contains full text scholarly journal articles as well as trade journals and industry newsletters, regional business news, magazines, and newspaper articles published worldwide (“Wall Street Journal” 1984-today).
  • Academic Onefile
    Journal articles on a wide range of topics.
  • Academic Search Alumni Edition
    Available to all SUNY New Paltz alumni. Alumni should access this database from within my.newpaltz.edu
    Designed for the research needs of the post-college professional.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
  • ACS Journals
    Full text of: Biochemistry, Environmental Science & Technology, Journal of the Agricultural and Food Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, The Journal of Organic Chemistry and the ACS Legacy Archives
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Journals, magazines, and other material on alternative health care and wellness.
  • America: History and Life
    Journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and more about the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • Applied Science & Technology Source
    Periodical articles about computer science, engineering, food industry, physics, textile industry, applied mathematics, and more.
  • Art & Architecture Complete
    a database that offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting and full-text coverage of academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as books. The database also provides an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
  • Art Index Retrospective
    Provides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
  • ARTstor Digital Archive Collection
    Digital images and information about works of visual art, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many times and cultures. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.

B

  • Bibliography of the History of Art
    Index to journals, books, and book chapters, in art, covering 1975 to 2007. From the Getty Research Institute.
  • BioOne
    Research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • Black Drama
    Includes plays, many previously unpublished, rare, or out-of-print, by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Raises the curtain on information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. Contains full text.
  • Black Newspapers
    A collection of current newspapers providing access to news from 1989-present
  • Britannica Online
    Encyclopedia entries and articles, plus videos, an atlas, timelines, quotations, and more.
  • Business Insights: Essentials
    Contains company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, market research, chronologies and periodicals. Search for the company name, and look for reports or articles that discuss market share or competitors. Search industries by SIC or NAICs code. This resource also provides electronic access to The Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries and The Encyclopedia of Global Industries, which have lengthy articles covering specific industries.
  • Business Source Alumni Edition
    Available to all SUNY New Paltz alumni. Alumni should access this database from within my.newpaltz.edu It is designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides 1,540 full text business magazines and journals, of which 780 are peer-reviewed.
  • Business Source Complete
    Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and includes full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Additional full-text non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, country-specific industry reports, case studies, market research reports,country reports, and more.

C

D

There are no titles that begin with the letter "D".

      

    E

    • Ebrary
      An online library of 100,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebrary are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
    • EBSCO eBook Collection
      Electronic versions of books including encyclopedias, handbooks & dictionaries. Each ebook has a limit of 1 user at a time.
    • EBSCOhost
      Allows the selection of multiple EBSCO databases.
    • EconLit
      Journal articles, books, and dissertations on economics (1969 - present).
    • Education Source
      Replaces the Education Research Complete database. Contains full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
    • Educational Administration Abstracts
      includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
      Encyclopedia entries and articles, plus videos, an atlas, timelines, quotations, and more.
    • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
      Periodical articles and more, covering topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business studies.
    • Environment Complete
      Journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.
    • ERIC (EBSCO)
      Citations and abstracts in education.
    • eLibrary Elementary
      Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes the American Heritage Dictionary.

    F

    • Films on Demand
      streaming educational videos covering a wide range of subject areas.

    G

    • Gale Literature Resource Center
      Biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of literary figures and their writings from all time periods.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works.
    • Gannett Newspapers
      Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Poughkeepsie Journal, Ithaca Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun Bulletin (Binghamton), and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
    • General Onefile
      contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. The backfile extends nearly 30 years.
    • GeoRef
      Comprehensive geoscience database produced by the American Geological Institute.
    • Grolier Online
      Includes Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (middle school and above), New Book of Knowledge (elementary school and above), Grolier Online Kids (elementary and middle school), plus dictionaries, including American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 4th ed., children’s dictionaries, Roget's II New Thesaurus, and an atlas.
    • Grove Art Online
      Leads to full-text articles from the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, plus searchable cross-references and web links to the collections of leading art galleries around the world. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.
    • Grove Music Online
      contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.

    H

    • HarpWeek
      Browse or search the full-text, full-image electronic version of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1865, covering the Civil War.
    • Health Reference Center Academic
      Journals, magazines, pamphlets, newsletters, and additional information covering health topics.
    • Health Source - Consumer Edition
      Consumer health information from periodicals, pamphlets, and reference books.
    • Historical Abstracts
      Periodical articles, books, and dissertations about world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
    • Historical New York Times
      search the New York Times online full text from 1851-2009.
    • Hoover's
      Financial,competitor, and executive information for more than 12 million U. S. and non-U. S. companies.
    • Humanities E-book Project
      Searchable collection of over 3,300 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
    • Humanities Source
      Journals and other important resources in the humanities.

    I

    • IEEE Digital Library
      full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology.
    • InfoTrac Newsstand
      This full-text newspaper database has several New York newspapers and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.
    • IngentaConnect
      a database containing article citations and summaries. To find the full text for a citation found in Ingenta Connect, please search the Journals search on the library homepage.

    J

    • JSTOR
      An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the very first issues. STL subscribes to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, Business I, Life Sciences, and many individual journals.

    K

    • Kanopy Streaming Video
      Kanopy is like Netflix for college. It includes 26,000 items that you can stream on campus or at home.
      The collection includes documentaries from multiple producers, newsreels, and classic and independent cinema, including the Criterion Collection, the DEFA collection, and others.
    • Kids Infobits
      Magazine and newspaper articles, reference sources, images, and other materials for students in grades K through five. Covers a wide range of topics.
    • Klimt02
      Klimt02 highlights the work of contemporary jewelry and artists worldwide and provides a forum for creative exchange and discourse. This database features current and archival works from museums, galleries, and private collections and is searchable by exhibition, artist, and geographic location.

    L

    • LexisNexis Academic
      News, business, legal, and reference information from periodicals, wire service reports, news broadcasts, and more.
    • LGBT Life with Full Text
      Journals, magazines, and newspapers covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgenderd studies.
    • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
      Journals, research reports and more, covering librarianship, information retrieval, and information management.
    • LitFinder
      Provides access to full-text poems, stories, plays and more. Used as a stand-alone resource, or as a complement to Gale's Literature Resource Center, LitFinder is a great resource for finding complete works and additional information sources such as biographies, essays and explanations. Contains full text.
    • (London) Times Digital Archive
      Provides a complete digital edition of the Times (London) from 1785-2007.

    M

    • MasterFILE Premier
      Periodical articles on all topics.
    • MathSciNet
      MathSciNet is the searchable Web database providing access to the Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present).
    • MEDLINE with Full Text
      Journals published internationally covering all areas of medicine.
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
      Information about and reviews of standardized tests covering education, psychology, personality, and more. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
    • Mergent Online
      A fully searchable database with financials details of over 25,000 active and inactive companies.
    • Military & Government Collection
      Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
    • MLA International Bibliography
      Modern Language Association's database of journal articles, books, and more, pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

    N

    O

    • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
      Provides open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,158,041 theses and dissertations.
    • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
      Presents opposing views on a wide range of social issues.
    • Oxford Art Online
      Leads to full-text articles from the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, plus searchable cross-references and web links to the collections of leading art galleries around the world. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.
    • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
      The authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium with definitions, history, and pronunciation of words.
    • Oxford Music Online
      Contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It also provides contextual to links to images, sound, and other related web sites. Access limited to 8 simultaneous users.

    P

    • Philosopher's Index
      Journal articles and books in philosophy and related fields.
    • Points of View Reference Center
      Essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues.
    • Political Science Complete
      Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
    • Project Muse
      Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
    • ProQuest Research Library
      access 3,000+ scholarly journals, magazines &newspapers - with full text and images
    • PsycARTICLES
      Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association.
    • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
      a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
    • PsycINFO
      The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO database, with over 2,000,000 records, is the most comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 25 languages.
    • Public Affairs Index
      Covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

    Q

    There are no titles that begin with the letter "Q".

        

      R

      • Readers' Guide Retrospective
        Covers a wide range of topics from popular, general interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982. Including full coverage of the original print volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
      • Reference Universe
        a unique database that allows you to search article titles and/or back-of-the-book indexes for reference books (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.). It is designed to assist you in finding the most relevant and authoritative reference works to begin or expand your research; a great tool when looking for background information or a topic overview.
      • Regional Business News
        Full-text regional business publications and newswires from around the world.
      • Resources for College Libraries
        Online edition of the new Resources for College Libraries. The core list features over 65,000 titles in 61 curriculum-specific subjects. Titles have been selected for your academic library by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers.

      S

      • SAGE Humanities and Social Science
        a collection of 419 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Coverage includes journals in business (organizational studies, organizational behavior, etc.), communication/media, criminology, education, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, philosophy, and social work
      • Sage Knowledge
        Searchable collection of over 150 academic encyclopedias and other e-books, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.
      • ScienceDirect
        Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
      • SciFinder Scholar
        online access to 5 major Chemical Abstracts Service literature, reaction & regulatory databases. On-campus access only. Important: New Paltz users must register (and use your SUNY New Paltz e-mail address) before accessing the database. In order to use the database, you need to register and create a username and password. Click here to register
      • SocINDEX
        Journals in sociology and social work, plus coverage of anthropology, criminal justice, gender studies, and more. Also indexes books and conference papers.
      • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
        Online philosophy encyclopedia that is kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board.
      • SUNY Union Catalog
        SUNY Union Catalog contains records for books, videos, journals, and other materials housed in all SUNY libraries.

      T

      • Tests in Print with Mental Measurements Yearbook
        provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
      • Theatre in Video
        Streaming video of over 250 dramatic productions and documentaries about theater, covering works from Sophocles through 20th century playwrights. Access limited to three simultaneous users.
      • Times Digital Archive
        Provides a complete digital edition of the Times (London) from 1785-2007.

      U

      • UlrichsWeb
        Directory of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other serials published worldwide.

      V

      Valuline Test Link

      • ValueLine Research Center
        on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. Access limited to six simultaneous users. Be sure to logout when finished with database.
      • Vocational and Career Collection
        full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals covering topics such as computer & data processing, nursing, interior design, law enforcement, hospitality and tourism, and more

      W

      • WestlawNext
        provides full-text access to primary and secondary legal resources such as statutes, regulations and case law. WestlawNext is limited to 5 simultaneous uses.
      • Women and Social Movements in the U.S.
        Many resources, including books, primary documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and more, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.
      • WorldCat
        Catalog of books, media, computer programs, musical scores, Web resources, and other materials in libraries worldwide.

      X

      There are no titles that begin with the letter "X".

          

        Y

        There are no titles that begin with the letter "Y".

            

          Z

          There are no titles that begin with the letter "Z".

              


            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip