LibGuides: ebooks@ STL: ebooks@STL

STL ebooks

About the Collections

What are ebooks?

ebooks are electronic versions of books and can be viewed online. Browse ebooks for quick research, answers to reference questions, or read them at your leisure. They’re available for you to use - anywhere, anytime.

Does STL have ebooks?
We have close to 100,000 ebooks covering many subject areas - everything from art, the humanities, history, to science and technology.

How do I find ebooks?
ebooks can be searched in the Library Catalog where a link to the full text of the ebook will be available. Many of our ebooks can be searched via their own collection provided interface. Some can be read in your internet browser, others downloaded as PDFs and viewed in an ereader device.

Do I need to setup an account?
If you would like to download an ebook from the ebrary or EBSCO collections you will need to create an account. Other ebook collections may require an account but there are no charges for these materials. (watch a short video about downloading ebooks in EBSCO)

STL ebook Collections

The following eBook collections are available 24/7 to current New Paltz faculty, students and staff. If you are accessing this web site from off-campus, you will need to login with your NPCUID when prompted. Many of these eBooks can be found in the Library Catalog.

Not a current New Paltz faculty, student or staff member? Visit the Sojourner Truth Library in person to use these resources. Or explore online access to available eBooks through local public libraries.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.
Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Black Drama: Third Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes plays, many previously unpublished, rare, or out-of-print, by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Raises the curtain on information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. Contains full text.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz