Metal Work

Covers how to search for articles using Search Our Library, using the Advanced Search option to refine a search, as well as left menu bar options to limit to a particular resource type.

Learn how to use quotes when searching for a person, and how to limit to just article results when using the "Search Our Libraries" tab.

 Whether in the Library or remote, you can browse art journals and magazines:

1. On the library website, go to the Databases tab.
2. Choose the option to "Search Periodicals by Title" and search for the name of a magazine or journal you're hoping to browse
3. Choose the entry for that journal or magazine that says "available online" in green.
4. Within the record for that journal or magazine choose the database coverage that is either most current (it will say that the coverage is "to present" or covers the range of years you are most interested in browsing.
5. Once you have clicked into that database access you should be able to select a year and volume / issue to view the articles.

Take a look at some of these core journals. They are available online, in print, or both:

For reviews of gallery and museum exhibitions past and present, as well as artist interviews, try these databases:

Scholarly journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, these editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers.

If an article is approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline. Thus, articles accepted for publication would then be considered peer reviewed.