Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Society Journals in Music Studies

Many scholarly music journals are available online, but you won't find the texts or even the indexes in our databases. These titles are partially indexed in the RILM database.

Journals Primarily Published in English

AMERICAN CHORAL REVIEW (SELECT TOCS; FIND MORE CHORUSAMERICA PUBLICATIONS HERE, TOO)

AMERICAN MUSICAL INSTRUMENT SOCIETY JOURNAL (INDEXING FROM 1975 - )

ANNUAL REVIEW OF JAZZ STUDIES (TOC'S ONLY; BROWSE ISSUE-BY-ISSUE)

BACH : Quarterly Journal of the Riemenschneider Bach Institute (TOCs from 1970 - )

CHINESE MUSIC [or Chinese Music international Journal] TOCs from 1993 -

CHOPIN STUDIES (annual; TOCs only, and only for the articles that appear in English in the journal)

COLLEGE MUSIC SYMPOSIUM (SEARCHABLE, BUT FULL TEXT ACCESS REQUIRES SUBSCRIPTION)

COMPUTER MUSIC JOURNAL

THE DIAPASON (1995-PRESENT)

DOWNBEAT

INDIANA THEORY REVIEW (BROWSE TOC ONLY; SOME TEXT)

JOURNAL OF MUSICOLOGICAL RESEARCH (TABLES OF CONTENT ONLY)

JOURNAL OF THE ARNOLD SCHOENBERG INSTITUTE (complete TOCs 1976 - 1996)

LIVING BLUES (Full content back to 1993)

JOURNAL OF RESEARCH IN MUSIC EDUCATION (TABLES OF CONTENT & ABSTRACTS)

LUTE SOCIETY JOURNAL (UK) TABLES OF CONTENT ONLY)

MUSICAL OPINION (UK) SOME FULL TEXT IN OUR DATABASES: CURRENT ISSUE ONLY AT THE WEBSITE

PERSPECTIVES OF NEW MUSIC (TOCs only from 1978)

THEORY AND PRACTICE : Journal of the Music Theory Society of New York State (TOCs from 1978 - )

VERDI NEWSLETTER (LATER, THE VERDI FORUM) TOCs ONLY BACK TO 1976

VIOLA DA GAMBA SOCIETY OF AMERICA JOURNAL (TOCs FROM 1964 - )

VIOLIN SOCIETY OF AMERICA JOURNAL (TOCs from 1976 - )

Italian Journals

Publications Primarily in German

ACTA MOZARTIANA (TOCs from 1954 - )

BRAHMS-STUDIEN (TOCs from 1974 - )