Philosophy 

Last update: Jul 30th, 2009 URL: http://newpaltz.libguides.com/philosophy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Books             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog for books on your topic

 

Call Numbers

The Sojourner Truth Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System for the call numbers it assigns to most of the items in its collections.

Here is a general listing of  call number areas for Philosophy:

B- Philosophy

BC- Logic

BD- Speculative Philosophy

BH- Aesthetics

BJ- Ethics

 

 

STL Maps

Online Books

  • Humanities E-book Project  
      
    over 1,500 fulltext books online
  • Project Gutenberg  
      
    over 25,000 free full text e-books
  • Digital Text Projects  
      
    From the Columbia University Institute for Learning Technologies.
  • Early Modern Philosophy Texts  
      
    Versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought. Maintained by Jonathan F. Bennett.
  • Electronic Philosophy Texts  
      
    From EpistemLinks. Provides a database of over 2,100 links to electronic Texts by famous philosophers throughout history. Searchable in three ways: title keyword, philosopher, topic category.

  • Philosophy  
      
    Contains canonical philosophic texts and links to scholarly philosophic organizations.
 

Other Catalogs

Worldcat- Search for books in other libraries that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan

 

 

Search the Catalog with Worldcat Local

      
     

    Reference books

    Find an overview of your topic by using Reference books.  Reference books are located on the Main Floor of the Sojourner Truth Library.

    • Free printing from Reference books at Information Desk!

    Use the  in the Library Catalog and Limit search to: Reference Collection


     

    The STL also subscribes to many Reference books through various library databases

    Online Reference Books

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait