Introduction
You can use this guide as your starting point for research in Human Services
Use the tabs above to explore the many resources available to students and faculty:
- print and digital reference sources for getting started (i.e., Sociology, Psychology, and Human Services encyclopedias)
- catalogs for discovering books (both print and digital format, at STL and in libraries worldwide)
- databases for searching for journal articles
- selective reliable websites
Feel free to contact me for additional guidance. Contact information is available on the right-hand side of page.
Valerie Mittenberg, Reference Librarian
Getting Started with Reference Sources
Reference Sources, such as subject encyclopedias, can help you to get started on a research project by providing reliable information that will help you to contextualize and narrow your topic. Subject Encyclopedias are more specialized than general encyclopedias. Coverage is limited to a specific subject or field of study and contain more developed articles written by scholars and experts within the field. Reference sources generally provide:
- Background information about a topic
- Brief, factual overviews of topics
- Important dates, events, and people associated with a topic
- Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic
- Articles written by authors with expertize in the subject matter
- Bibliographies of sources for further reading
E-Reference Sources
Gale Virtual Reference Library, and the Sage Reference Online, allow you to search for topics across the entire collection of encyclopedias within each database.
- Gale Virtual Reference Libraryfull-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works published by Gale Group
- Sage Reference Onlineauthoritative full text encyclopedias.
Research Contact |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |

.jpg)
Loading...
