Skip to main content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

The Textbook Collection

A collection of course texts procured with you in mind!

New Arrivals

Poll

Do we have your textbook?
Yes, thanks!!: 0 votes (0%)
No, I'll suggest that my professor donate a copy!: 1 votes (100%)
You have it, but it's not on reserve.: 0 votes (0%)
You used to have it. Where did it go?: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

Poll

Where do you primarily get your textbooks?
Sojourner Truth Library: 0 votes (0%)
Elting Memorial Library: 0 votes (0%)
The Campus Bookstore: 0 votes (0%)
Amazon: 1 votes (100%)
Barnes & Noble: 0 votes (0%)
Local Bookstores: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

About the Textbook Collection

Welcome to the online home of the Sojourner Truth Library Textbook Collection, a collection of texts the circulation department has procured with YOU in mind!

The Textbook Collection's mission is to provide course texts to SUNY New Paltz students through reserve loan at the Sojourner Truth Library. Any SUNY New Paltz student with valid ID can use items from the Textbook Collection, free-of-charge.

Pursuing higher education can be an expensive endeavor; that's why the Textbook Collection was started. We want to help supply you with the books you need to fulfill your dreams. This semester, there are more than 179 course texts on reserve, a value of over $19,000—and the collection keeps growing!

The Textbook Collection is a donation-based program, so we may not have all of the texts you need—yet. If you have used a book in the Textbook Collection through reserve loan at the library, you have benefited from donations made by other students like yourself. To ensure the continuation of this program, use it! And please contribute by donating gently used textbooks at the end of each semester.

Check out the Collection!

How to Donate

If you have gently used textbooks, consider contributing them to the cause! 
All you need to do is bring the books to the circulation counter and fill out a short informational form.  We use this information to classify the books in our catalog so that students can easily search for and find them.

Donations Other than Textbooks

Whether it's unwanted textbooks or leisure-reading books, donating to the library is an amazing way to pay-it-forward.

Unwanted books that are not course texts can be donated to the Friends of Library's (FOL) book sale.  You can e-mail Bill at hennessw@newpaltz.edu for more information on how to donate to FOL.