Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
SUNY New Paltz has held a dialog about renaming some of the student housing and dining areas on campus. The Diversity and Inclusion Council has compiled their findings in a report, "Hasbrouck Building Complex Renaming Dialog Report and Recommendation."
The Sojourner Truth Library wishes to provide a comprehensive bibliography for the works referenced in the report, in order to provide visibility to the sources used, and show where to find them. We hope that this will enable us to learn the context behind the dialog and to empower those who seek to engage with the history of our institution and the affected communities.
You can find many of the listed resources right here in our library! And any other source not in our collection might be available through interlibrary loan. If you can't track something down, however, you can always come to our Research Help Desk and a librarian can help you with any of your information needs.
From Black Power to Black Studies by 
The Huguenots in America by 
The Huguenots of Colonial New Paltz and New Rochelle: A Social and Religious History by 
Creating Black Americans by 
The Half Has Never Been Told by 
A History of Negro Slavery in New York by 
Slavery and Freedom in the Mid-Hudson Valley by 
Long Hammering by 
The Island at the Center of the World by 
Set in Stone by 
New Paltz Revisited by 
Rip Van Winkle's Neighbors by 
Inventing Human Rights by These books are all in our Special Collections, a special place in our library for books that might be too rare or too delicate to leave on our public shelves.
If you have interest in browsing them, you can! Just fill out a special collections form and give it to our circulation desk. Our special collections librarian will get back to you and set up a time when you can view these materials.
Unfortunately, these books are not found in our collections. You can try our Interlibrary Loan service, however, to receive from another library worldwide that might be willing to loan to us.
Login using your New Paltz ID, and fill out the required information. Once done, click on the source type you wish to request and fill out the requisite information from the records in this libguide.
