LibGuides: ARH382 American Art (Carso): Cite your Sources

Citing with Chicago Style

Purdue Owl Chicago Style
This is one of the few online guides that places note and bibliography citations together, highlighting the different formats.
Chicago Manual Style (Williams College, Examples of Notes and Bibliography
This easy to use compact guide from Williams College Libraries contains examples of notes and bibliography citations.
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Official)
Provides examples of both Humanities Style (Note, Bibliography) and Social Sciences Style (In-text, Author / Date)

Purdue Owl's Guide to Annotated Bibliographies
"[Here you will] find sample annotations from annotated bibliographies, each with a different research project. Remember that the annotations you include in your own bibliography should reflect your research project and/or the guidelines of your assignment."

Some things to keep in mind as you're evaluating a website include:

Who wrote it? What are their credentials? Have they studied or worked extensively in the field they are writing about?
Is the page part of a larger institution qualified to write on the topic (e.g. a museum or archive)
Is the page part of a larger institution with particular lobbying goals? How might that impact the information presented?
Do they cite their sources? Can you verify what they are saying using other sources?
Are they trying to sell you anything?

Check out these more comprehensive evaluation guides:

Writing about Art by Marjorie Munsterberg
Call Number: Online Resource
This online guide contains sections on writing visual descriptions as well as stylistic, iconographic, and historical analyses. In addition, there is an excellent Chicago Style citation guide with numerous sample entries.
A Short Guide to Writing About Art