LibGuides: BIO418 Animal Behavior (Belinsky): Find Articles

Searching for articles in "Search Our Library"

The "Search Our Library" tab on the Library website allows you to search for online resources from nearly all of our database content. You can discover scholarly journal articles this way, as well as ebooks.

Refining Your Search

After you run a search, you'll find the number of results retrieved at the very top of the list. Searching with this tool can result in very large numbers of results (tens or hundreds of thousands!) If you get a large number of results, you might want to experiment with using the refinement tools on the left side of the results list. This allows you to do things like limit to more recent scholarship, or to view only articles that have gone through a peer review process. You may find that you also need to add more keywords in order to narrow the focus of your search.

Recommended Databases

While "Search our Libraries" is a good place to go to search nearly ALL the article databases we have, if you are getting too many results you may choose to search in a few specific databases that have good coverage of publications in biology and animal behavior.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 1,500 scholarly journals from Springer Publishing. The collection is strong in mathematics and the physical and life sciences. It also includes important titles in psychology, sociology, business and economics.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. This database includes the full text of articles added to the platform prior to 2012, as well as those articles which were published in open access journals. BioOne also allows for the discovery of articles that may not be immediately available in full text but could be requested via interlibrary loan.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz