Contains full text scholarly journal articles as well as trade journals and industry newsletters, regional business news, magazines, and newspaper articles published worldwide (“Wall Street Journal” 1984-today).

Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.

Academic Video Online is a database with over 70,000 educational videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, and field recordings. The collection covers all major subject areas and provides useful features such as the ability to create custom clips and playlists that can be shared with other users. Available through SUNYConnect.

Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

Full text of: Biochemistry, Environmental Science & Technology, Journal of the Agricultural and Food Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, The Journal of Organic Chemistry and the ACS Legacy Archives

Contains citations of works in agriculture and related fields. Links to many full-text documents on the web are included.

Available to all SUNY New Paltz alumni. The alumni databases are Academic Search Alumni Edition and Business Source Alumni Edition. Clicking on this link will take you to the Alumni Research Guide, which contains links to the online databases.

Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from 1684 through 1904. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Periodical articles about computer science, engineering, food industry, physics, textile industry, applied mathematics, and more.

offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting and full-text coverage of academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as books. The database also provides an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.

Provides access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.

Search thousands of digital images of artworks and other objects. JSTOR's image catalog includes almost everything previously held in Artstor, which will be retired in August of 2024.

Open access to over 1 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

an online database of over eight million astronomy and physics papers from both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed sources.

Index to journals, books, and book chapters, in art, covering 1975 to 2007. From the Getty Research Institute.

Research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. This database includes the full text of articles added to the platform prior to 2012, as well as those articles which were published in open access journals. BioOne also allows for the discovery of articles that may not be immediately available in full text but could be requested via interlibrary loan.

Provides life histories for all bird species and families, scholarly content, millions of bird observations from eBird, and multimedia. Funded by the Friends of the Sojourner Truth Library. 

Includes plays, many previously unpublished, rare, or out-of-print, by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Raises the curtain on information on related productions, theaters, and production companies. Contains full text.

Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopædia Britannica with Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts. Provided by NOVELNY.

Britannica content in Spanish for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Provided by NOVELNY

Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades Pre-K-12 and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High. Provided by NOVELNY.

Detailed company and industry news and information from company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, periodicals, and more. Provided by NOVELNY.

Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and includes full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Additional full-text non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, country-specific industry reports, case studies, market research reports,country reports, and more.

Cambridge Journals provides full text to over 400+ journals published by Cambridge University Press, many accessible from 1997, or Volume 1 if published later. It covers a number of different subjects.

transcripts and nearly 500 hours of 60 Minutes video from 1997–2014. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Segments are also included from CBS News program Sunday Morning.

Choice has provided academic book and website reviews for over 50 years, with almost 200,000 reviews in a searchable archive.

The Chronicle (Online) is published every weekday and is the source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Subscription is sponsored by the Provost Office.

Health and nursing periodicals, mostly academic.

an encyclopedia of geographical places and features

Journal articles, books, dissertations, Web sites, and institutions in speech-language pathology and audiology.

Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies.

Thousands of e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Available through SUNYConnect.

Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.

Provides access to free, full-text scholarly and scientific open access journals. More than 5000 journals are included.

A package of play collections including all the content in the following full-text play collections:
Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, North American Indian Drama, Latin American Drama, and Contemporary World Drama. Everything is cross-searchable with one combined search result. These collections contain full-text plays (many of which are previously unpublished plays), with related production, theatre, and biographical information.

An online library of over 200,000 ebooks in various subjects from academic, professional, and trade publishers. Most e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.

Electronic versions of books.

Multiple databases of journals and newspapers can be searched individually or concurrently. Topical coverage includes social sciences, education, humanities, business, natural sciences, health and medicine. Contains full text.

Journal articles, books, and dissertations on economics (1969 - present).

Contains full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Provided by NOVELNY.

Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopædia Britannica with Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts. Provided by NOVELNY.

Journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.

ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center accessible here through the EBSCO interface provides access to the ERIC database which includes citations from Resources in Education (RIE) and the Current Index to Journals in Education CIJE). Also provides full text access to educational digests and links to more than 224,000 full text ERIC documents (ED numbers).

This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

A comprehensive collection of high-quality, streaming educational videos licensed from a long-established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, etc. Covers a wide range of subject areas.

Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Provided by NOVELNY.

Resource for academic research includes scholarly journals and selected general interest titles in a wide variety of subjects. Provided by NOVELNY.

A comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs and business students. Provided by NOVELNY.

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Provided by NOVELNY.

Gale Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. It includes authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Provided by NOVELNY

Magazine and newspaper articles, reference sources, images, and other materials for students in grades K through five. Provided by NOVELNY.

Resource for students in grades 6 to 8. It offers magazines, newspapers, primary sources, over 12,000 videos, and more on various topics. Supports national and state curriculum standards in language arts, social studies, and science. Provided by NOVELNY.

Access New York legal forms and resources. Provided by NOVELNY.

Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers, from all time periods and from around the world.

Reviews and recommendations to assist with book selection. Provided by NOVELNY.

Provides access to business and technical publications in the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries. Provided by NOVELNY.

Full text of nursing and allied health journals plus a variety of personal health information sources. Provided by NOVELNY.

Designed for middle- and high school students and provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies. Provided by NOVELNY.

Spanish interface provides access to Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals both from and about Latin America. Provided by NOVELNY.

This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers. Provided by NOVELNY.

Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.

The primary resource for geoscience literature. Over 2 million scholarly references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and abstracts, reports and theses. Produced by the American Geological Institute.

Google Books has over 10 million free available books for users. All of the books via Google Books are full-text searchable. Anyone can search and view the Ebooks. Public domain books are downloadable via PDF.

Google Scholar allows you to search across a wide range of academic literature. It draws on information from journal publishers, university repositories, and other websites that it has identified as scholarly.

Leads to full-text articles from the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, plus searchable cross-references and web links to the collections of leading art galleries around the world. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.

contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.

Click "advanced search" to search by format (book, serial, audio, etc.) Be sure to select "full view only" to find open access resources. HathiTrust began in 2008 as a collaboration of universities to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections.

Consumer health information from periodicals, pamphlets, and reference books.

Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

search the New York Times online full text from 1851-2021

Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

Provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,

full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology.

An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.

Search thousands of digital images of artworks and other objects. JSTOR's image catalog includes almost everything previously held in Artstor, which was retired in August of 2024.

Select list of licensed to use films for the New Paltz campus

Klimt02 highlights the work of contemporary jewelry and artists worldwide and provides a forum for creative exchange and discourse. This database features current and archival works from museums, galleries, and private collections and is searchable by exhibition, artist, and geographic location.

Strives to provide wide coverage in English of news by Latin American media within 19 countries of that region, in Spanish or Portuguese. English summaries have links to original articles. Subjects include arts and culture, economy, environment, society, inter-American and international relations, politics, travel, and war, drugs, violence, and a section on classroom use.

This database replaces LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Provides abstracts and indexes of over 500 journals, books, and reference works, and full-text access to over 300. Includes a thesaurus of LGBT terminology.

Journals, research reports and more, covering librarianship, information retrieval, and information management.

Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

The digital Loeb Classical Library contains the full texts of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts and parallel English translations. Users can search across the full corpus of texts in Greek, Latin, and English; browse the entire database by author, language, period, form, genre, or subject; and bookmark, annotate, and share content. The Loeb library represents the entire ancient Greek and Latin literary heritage, including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as the ancient writers on medicine and mathematics.

Provides a complete digital edition of the Times (London) from 1785-2014.

Provides full text for general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues, and much more.

Provides access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Current Mathematical Publications provides subject indexing of recent and forthcoming publications.

The authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

Information about and reviews of standardized tests covering education, psychology, personality, and more. Access limited to 4 simultaneous users

Find information on public U.S. and foreign companies. This interface will replace Mergent Online. Both databases will be operational until 6/30/25, when Mergent Online will no longer be available.

Financial details of companies. Creates custom lists based on your criteria and compares reports and spreadsheets. Mergent Market Atlas will replace this database. This database will be accessible until June 2025, at which point it will be fully replaced by the new interface.

Designed to offer current, full-text news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Modern Language Association's database of journal articles, books, and more, pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Native Land Digital is a resource to learn more about Indigenous territories, languages, lands, and ways of life. Native Land Digital strives to create and foster conversations about the history of colonialism, Indigenous ways of knowing, and settler-Indigenous relations, through educational resources such as our map and Territory Acknowledgement Guide.

Online recordings of classical, jazz, world and folk musics, with liner notes and other supplementary texts

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 60,000 tracks of jazz from over 5,200 albums, with over 7,000 jazz artists represented. Access limited to four simultaneous users. Be sure to logout when finished with database.

Full-text coverage, 1980-present

search the New York Times online full text from 1851-2021.

Articles from U.S. and international newspapers and newswires.

This database replaces LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

an online library available to every New Yorker, free of charge.

Provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

Provides open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,158,041 theses and dissertations.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspective on many important issues, with more than 20,000 pro/con viewpoints and more than 19,000 reference articles and topic overviews. You'll find more than 12,000 charts and graphs along with statistical information. Includes full-text coverage from newspapers and magazines such as National Review, The New York Times, Commentary, and CNN Wire. Provided by NOVELNY.

Search full-text articles from the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art to find information about individual artists, art movements, and techniques. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.

The authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium with definitions, history, and pronunciation of words.

Contains the full text of several music reference works, most importantly Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It also provides contextual to links to images, sound, and other related web sites. Access limited to 8 simultaneous users.

Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers. Users need to create a Gale account to monitor their test progress and customize other resources. Provided by NOVELNY.

A bibliography of scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy, containing more than 485,000 journal articles and book citations drawn from over 1400 journals.

PLoS publishes several open access, peer-reviewed journals covering an array of disciplines in the sciences.

Provides overviews of topics, including arguments on multiple sides of an issue. In addition to original essays, includes articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio/TV transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

over 60,000 free full text e-books

Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

This resource provides access to 12 complete, full-text ProQuest databases in major subject areas such as Science, Technology, Business, Health, Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences and Education, as well as US national and regional newspapers

full-text journals in education and related fields.

coverage for more than 580 key journals in health administration.

full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications

access 3,000+ scholarly journals, magazines &newspapers - with full text and images

full-text periodicals covering the social sciences

Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association.

a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO database, with over 2,000,000 records, is the most comprehensive international database of psychology. It covers the academic research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 25 languages.

information on the biological activities of small molecules

Covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today.

provides free of charge access to all MEDLINE citations

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Covers a wide range of topics from popular, general interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982. Including full coverage of the original print volumes of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.

Includes full-text articles from 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Use for keeping up with regional business news, getting a sense for a community, and local business information.

a collection of 419 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Coverage includes journals in business (organizational studies, organizational behavior, etc.), communication/media, criminology, education, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, philosophy, and social work

Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.

authoritative full text encyclopedias.

Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.

SciFinder-n is the user interface to a few databases that identify articles, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow, and Retrosynthesis Plan. Important: New Paltz users must register (and use your SUNY New Paltz e-mail address) before accessing the database. In order to use the database, you need to register and create a username and password.

Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals

Journals in sociology and social work, plus coverage of anthropology, criminal justice, gender studies, and more. Also indexes books and conference papers.

A collection of optics and photonics research, including technical papers, conference proceedings, and eBooks. Open Access publications and free content are available.

Provides full-text access to over 1,500 scholarly journals from Springer Publishing. The collection is strong in mathematics and the physical and life sciences. It also includes important titles in psychology, sociology, business and economics.

Online philosophy encyclopedia that is kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board.

Select list of licensed to use films for the New Paltz campus

provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print.Access limited to 4 simultaneous users

Streaming video of over 250 dramatic productions and documentaries about theater, covering works from Sophocles through 20th century playwrights. Access limited to three simultaneous users.

Provides a complete digital edition of the Times (London) from 1785-2014.

offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from US publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and Extra (Chicago).

Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format

Investment research on companies, industries, markets, and economies. Information and analysis on 1,700+ stocks and 98 industries. Commentary, up-to-date statistics and the wide variety of stock "screens" are designed to help investors identify attractive stocks for their portfolios. If you are denied access, please try back at another time. Access limited to six simultaneous users. Be sure to logout when finished with the database.

Many resources, including books, primary documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and more, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.

Catalog of books, media, computer programs, musical scores, Web resources, and other materials in libraries worldwide.