LibGuides: Engineering: Technical Reports

What Are Technical Reports?

"Technical reports describe the results and findings of research and development projects and other DOE-funded activities. For direct-procurement type awards, technical reports are formal documents usually identified as required reporting deliverables and may cover a specified time frame referred to as the reporting period. For major site/facility contractors, in addition to formal reports, these may be any technical document that contains technical information useful to others, including the results of research determined not appropriate or rejected for open literature publication."

Source: Office of Scientific and Technical Information. https://www.osti.gov/faqs#faq-270582

Technical Report Example

Government Agency Databases

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
"DTIC enables the defense research and development community to maximize the availability, use and collaboration of the almost 4,000,000 technical records resulting from Defense-funded technical activities. Approximately half of the records are available for the public to search, free of charge, through this site."
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
"NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA."
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Databases & Software
Find vehicle crash test data and reports, as well as crash simulation vehicle models and software from NHTSA.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications Share (NSCEP)
"You can search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!"
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS is a large, centralized collection of documents from U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, and engineering research. Free registration is required to access the PDFs of reports through the National Technical Research Library (NTRL).
SciTech Connect
"Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy"
TRID
"TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide."

Private Industry Technical Papers

IBM Technical Paper Search
"Our intent is to provide the scientific community with access to technical reports written by members of the IBM Research community. Some reports are available for download. Once a technical report is published in either a journal or conference proceedings, it is sometimes replaced with a reference to the external source. Please respect any copyright notices and limited distribution notices included in these reports."

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz