LibGuides: BUS 457 Entrepreneurship: Market Research

Online Market Research Reports/Market Share

Market research reports contain information like market size, market trends, and market segmentation. Market research can help identify your target customer and refine the product to fit the customer's needs. Use the following resources for finding market research:

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Provides market share information from Market Share Reporter and rankings from Business Rankings Annual.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and includes full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Additional full-text non-journal content includes SWOT analyses, country-specific industry reports, case studies, market research reports,country reports, and more.
ABI/Inform Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text scholarly journal articles as well as trade journals and industry newsletters, regional business news, magazines, and newspaper articles published worldwide (“Wall Street Journal” 1984-today).
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable database with financial details of companies. Allows you to create custom lists according to your criteria as well as comparison reports & spreadsheets.

Video

Market Research
The brief video linked above was produced by Inc. (2014) and is available through the library's subscription to the Academic Video Online: Premium database. The video focuses on:
-Identifying Your Target Customers
-Devising New Growth Strategies
-Researching the Competition
-Utilizing Industry Research
-Using Sampling and Demos to Get Feedback

Books

The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research by Anne M. Wenzel
Call Number: Stacks ; HF5415.2 .W454 2012
"The Entrepreneur's Guide to Market Research is a must-have for anyone who wants to start or expand a business. This fact-filled, actionable book offers a step-by-step guide to researching and documenting the market potential of any product or service, something that is an essential--and too often overlooked--part of constructing a workable business plan.

Free Websites for Consumer Information and Demographics

American Customer Satisfaction Index
The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.
data.census.gov
new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
American Time Use Survey (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Current statistics on employment, wages, consumer expenditure, and more.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Statistics on the expenditures and income of U.S. consumers. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Pew Research Center
Numbers, facts and trends shaping our world. Surveys and reports on demography, domestic policy, economics, elections, energy and environment, global attitudes, foreign affairs, immigration, internet and technology, legal, news media, politics and elections, public opinion, religion, social trends and more.
Mapping the Measure of America
Measure of America of the Social Science Research Council offers tools for understanding opportunity and well-being in America. Interactive maps, charts, and stacks reflecting health, education, and income indicators at varying levels of geography and population segments as well as demographics, housing and transportation statistics, and more.
Social Explorer: Demographic Profiles
The free version of Social Explorer includes Demographic Profiles, an overview of the most popular demographic and socio-economic topics for a given geography. (Data source: American Community Survey)

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz