LibGuides: BUS 457 Entrepreneurship: Business Plans

Sample Plans

The online Business Plans Handbook contains actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans. There are many, many volumes of this publication. The handbook is available online in full text in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database. Click on the link below to search the handbook.

Business Plans Handbook
Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

Videos: Writing a Business Plan

Writing a Business Plan
The brief video linked above was produced by Inc. (2014) and is available through the library's subscription to the Academic Video Online: Premium database.
The video covers:
-What Goes into a Business Plan
-Validating Your Idea
-Setting Realistic Expectations
-Using a Business Plan to Pitch Investors
-Updating Your Business Plan
Business Planning
In A Young Entrepreneur's Video Guide to Starting and Growing a Business, Chapter 4, 10 minutes In this chapter you will learn what business plans are and why they are important. Featuring: Tony Hsieh (Zappos.com), Catherine Hughes (Radio One), Joshua Dziabiak (ShowClix), Christopher Kelly (Sentry Centers), Arel Moodie (Empact), Dr. Irum Tahir (High Point Chiropractic Wellness), Windsor Hanger (Her Campus), Stephanie Kaplan (Her Campus), Katia Beauchamp (Birchbox), Barnabas Shakur (Project Re-Generation), and Maria Cortez (El Maguey y LaTuna).

Books and eBooks

Find more books about:

Business planning

Entrepreneurship

New business enterprises - Planning

New business enterprises

Pitch Anything: an Innovative Method for Presenting, Persuading, and Winning the Deal by Oren Klaff
Call Number: Stacks HF5438.8.P74 K53 2011
Pitch Anything introduces the exclusive STRONG method of pitching, which can be put to use immediately: Setting the Frame; Telling the Story; Revealing the Intrigue; Offering the Prize; Nailing the Hookpoint; Getting a Decision.
Get Backed by Evan Baehr; Evan Loomis
Call Number: Stacks HG4027.6 .B24 2015
Here, Evan Baehr and Evan Loomis--two veterans of the startup world--will show you how to create a compelling pitch deck and how to plan and execute a fundraising road show that will win financial support for your business. This process will also help you think more clearly about your vision, your company, and your relationships. -- Adapted from cover flap
The One-Hour Business Plan by John McAdam
Call Number: EBOOK
EBOOK: A guide to writing a successful business plan--in just one hour.
The Startup Checklist by David S. Rose
Call Number: EBOOK
EBOOK: You'll learn the ins and outs of startup execution, management, legal issues, and practical processes throughout the launch and growth phases, and how to avoid the critical missteps that threaten the foundation of your business.
Good Charts : The HBR Guide to Making Smarter, More Persuasive Data Visualizations by Scott Berinato
Call Number: EBOOK
In Good Charts, dataviz maven Scott Berinato provides an essential guide to how visualization works and how to use this new language to impress and persuade.
The Standout Business Plan by Vaughan Evans; Brian Tracy
Call Number: EBOOK
EBOOK: Shows readers how to create a business plan that speaks directly to investors and lenders and makes it easy for them to say yes.
Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder; Yves Pigneur
Call Number: Stacks HD30.28 .O778 2010
Offers tools and techniques to systematically understand, design, and implement new business models and renovate and rework old models.

Business Plan and Entrepreneurship Web Sites

B Plans.com
100+ free sample plans and articles on how to write a business plan, start a business, finance a business, grow a business and more.
Business Plan Outline
Excellent outline with brief description of sections; handy outline to keep close at hand while creating your plan.
Create Your Business Plan, from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)
The SBA has delivered millions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses.
FindLaw
This site, affiliated with Thomson Reuters, provides links to numerous resources related to creating a business plan.
Inc.
Great section by section, step by step description; supplemented by articles from Inc. magazine.
An Introduction to Business Plans
Introduction to a tutorial on business plans written by the staff at Entrepreneur magazine.
IRS Starting a New Business
Includes links to basic federal tax information for small business owners and those looking to start a business. Includes information on identifying your businesses' structure, employer identification numbers, record keeping, business taxes, and a helpful checklist for all necessary tax-related small business filings.
Templates for your Business Plan
Browse the template gallery, which contains real business plans and financial & accounting statements created by SCORE.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz