Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Accessing Materials on the Ground Floor

A guide on how to access materials from the Ground floor of the library while it is closed due to mold.

Options for Accessing Bound Periodicals

Physical bound periodicals are not eligible to Interlibrary Loan, but PDF scans of articles from bound periodicals are.

There are two options for accessing periodicals from the ground floor. 

  1. Search our databases for existing electronic access
  2. Request a PDF scan from another library 

Search our databases for existing electronic access

You can use Search Our Library to search for known articles by title. If we have electronic access to the article in our databases a link will be provided. 

  1. Using the "Search Our Library" on the library homepage, search for access to an article by title. "Search Our Library" bar on the library homepage with article title in search bar.
  2. If we have access to the article it will be listed in the results page. Click on the search result that matches the article you would like to access. "Search Our Library" results page showing results list for an article search. First result is the article.
  3. Once you click into the item record, scroll down to the "Get it" section. Click on the hyperlink for a databases listed in the "Get it" section. Article description page with the "Get It" section and links to databases.
  4. You should now see the full text of the article through one of our databases. Full text of article within Gale Academic Onefile database.

Request a PDF scan from another library

You can use Search Our Library or use the Interlibrary Loan request form to request access to articles we do not currently have access to. A link to Interlibrary Loan is listed below. 

  1. Using the "Search Our Library" on the library homepage, search for access to an article by title. "Search Our Library" bar on the library homepage with an arrow pointing to search bar.
  2. If we have access to the article it will be listed in the results page. If we do not check the box on the left to "Add results that require additional delivery time via ILL." "Search Our Library" results page showing no results with a box around the check box for Interlibrary Loan results on the left.
  3. Now that the box for including articles delivered through ILL is checked, look at the results page. Click on the title of the article to be brought to an article description page. "Search Our Library" results page now shows two results for Interlibrary Loan articles. Arrow points to one of the articles.
  4. On the article description page, sign into your library account. 
  5. Scroll down to the "Get It" section and select the "Interlibrary Loan" option. Article description page with arrowing pointing to the "Get It" section with Interlibrary Loan links.
  6. Sign into your Interlibrary Loan account using your NP username and password. 
  7. Check to make sure the auto filled article information is correct then hit "Submit Request" at the bottom of the request page. Interlibrary Loan article request page auto filled with a box around "Submit Request" at bottom.
  8. You will receive an email when a PDF of the article is available for you to download.
  1. On the Sojourner Truth Library’s web site, under the "Services" tab click on "Interlibrary Loan." 
  2. Sign into ILLiad using your campus network log-in credentials. If you are a first-time ILLiad user, you will be required to complete a registration form, and include a valid email address.
  3. Once signed into ILLiad, you will see a menu at the top of the page. Choose the article category under the "New Request" section.
  4. Fill out all the required sections of the form to the best of your ability. 
  5. Hit the "Submit Request" button at the bottom of the form once all the required information is inputted. 
Subjects: Reference