Library Guides & Databases
| Research Guides | Databases A-Z | Library Catalog | Ask a Librarian | Library Home Page | SUNY New Paltz |
|
|
|||||
A database is an online collection of information that can be searched in some way. Databases search collections of journals, magazines, newspapers, book citations, documents, images, and more -- often focused on a particular subject. You can select any of the following Psychology Databases to find journal articles by topic. Because the library pays for subscriptions to these databases, most of your search results will be available to read (and often download) immediately, and those articles that aren't accessible can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
When you use the databases it is helpful to review the subject terms and other descriptive keywords that are assigned to the articles. Keeping record of these standardized terms will assist you with future searches.
Library article databases are indexes that allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).
The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts:
Scholarly journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, these editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers.
If an article is approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline. Thus, articles accepted for publication would then be considered peer reviewed.
Multi-subject databases offer articles drawn from a variety of different subject areas. They are useful for topics that might cover a diversity of subjects or perspecitives.
Use the databases shown here to find references to articles about your topic.
To get to the full-text of the article, click on the 
button next to the reference.
No button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.
If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.
If we don't have access to an article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Use Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print to identify published tests, and to read descriptions and reviews of tests. These resources do not contain the actual tests- only descriptions and reviews.