This is the "Home" page of the "Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies  

This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to guide students and faculty researching a topic within the fields of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://newpaltz.libguides.com/womens_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Women &Work LibGuide

Link to Professor Kuiper's Libguide for Women & Work, Spring 2014

Libguide for Women & Work Spring 2014

 

Research Tips that Get You Started

Select a topic that interests you:
Start by choosing a topic that interests you and that you can cover in the time and space required for your project.  

Do preliminary searches:
Do a few searches in the Library Catalog or article databases before commiting to your topic. You may find that you need to narrow or broaden your topic based on what you discover.

Read background information:
Take a few minutes to read about your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, dictionary or handbook. These sources will provide you with background information, as well as lists of other sources to get you started on your research.

Make a list of words that describe your topic:
Write your topic out as a short sentence or question and look at the different components that make up your statement.  From these components, start compiling a list of words, as well as synonyms that describe your topic. Use these words to search for your topic in the Library Catalog and in Article Databases.

Focus on scholarly sources:
Use primarily scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. Such sources are typically not freely available on the Web and cannot be found by searching Internet search engines like Google or Yahoo. Click on the Databases tab above.

Keep a log of your search process:
Keep track of what sources and search terms "work" and which ones do not.

Cite as you go:
Even if you're not sure whether you will use a source, it's much easier to note the citation information up front than to decide you need it later! 

 

Comments/Suggestions

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Welcome

women's studies image

Welcome to the LibGuide for Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies. This guide provides you with recommended library resources for your research. 

Feel free to contact me for additional guidance.  Contact information is available on the right-hand side of page.

Or:

      

    Liaison Librarian

    Profile Image
    Morgan Gwenwald
    Contact Info
    Send Email
     


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip