Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to guide students and faculty researching a topic within the fields of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies.

Call Number Letters for Women's Studies

The following letters indicate some of the main subject areas relating to Women's Studies.  Use the letters to browse the collection to find books that may be of interest.  Since Women's Studies is by nature highly interdisciplinary you may have greatest success using the library catalog to search for books.

HQ  Women's Studies

E 11-143 America

E 151-904

F 1-975 United States Local History

 

Recommend a Book or Video

We encourage faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students to recommend book and video titles. 

Finding Books in the Sojourner Truth Library

  • Use the catalog to search for a book.  Use the Subject or Keyword search if you don't have a particular title or author in mind. 

  • If the Subject search doesn't return any results try the Keyword search and vice versa.

  • The Reference collection is located on the first floor.  Reference material contains quick facts, statistics, short biographies, and generally quick information to get you started. 

  • Books in the Library are arranged by their call number.  The call number is located on the spine of the book and is unique to each book.  Call numbers are arranged alphabetically and then numerically.

  • Call numbers begin with one, two, or three letters that indicate the subject of the book. 

Find Books ANYWHERE using WorldCat, Then request through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Can't find the perfect book in our library, or need more? Use WorldCat to identify other books on your topic or whether another library owns it.  Borrow books for free through your Inter-Library Loan account.  Please allow a few days in your resarch schedule for these books to be located and delivered to our library for you to pick up.  Click on the Illiad link below to request a book.

 

E-book Collections

 Search these collections for electronic books that can be viewed on your computer. 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand - Digital Educational Video

Films on Demand provides the New Paltz community instant access to streaming educational videos covering a wide range of subject areas.  Films On Demand contain over 5,000 streaming videos.  These educational videos may be watched on your computer or viewed in your classroom -- anywhere you have Internet service, 24 hours a day. For more information:  Films on Demand Guide