LibGuides: Government Information: State & Local

New York State: General Information

State Constitutions, Statutes and Codes
Library of Congress Internet Resource Page with links to State and Local Governments
New York and other State Information
Library of Congress page of links to State and Local information
New York State Library: Digital Collections
Browse or search through NYSL's collection of digital government documents.
New York QuickFacts from the U.S. Census Bureau
Provides basic Census information for the State of New York with more detailed information, including census data by county and city, a few clicks away. Town laws and recent events are also available through this website.

New York State: Executive Branch

New York State Governor's Website
The official website of the Governor. Includes an archive of press releases, speeches, appointments and executive orders.
New York State Agency Listing
List of links to New York State Agencies from the New York State Library. Also browse digital documents of each New York State government agency.
NYS Geographic Information System Clearinghouse
Government source for geographic information on New York State.

New York State: Legislative Branch

New York State Legislature
Includes NYS bills, vetoes, floor calendars, committee agendas and more.
New York State Senate
NYS senate information including Senate Reports.
New York State Assembly
NYS Assembly information including Assembly Reports.

New York State: Judicial Branch

New York State Unified Court System
Provides information on the structure and history of the New York State Unified Court System. Court decisions are also available.
State of the Judiciary / State of New York Unified Court System
This is an annual report made by Chief Judge of the State of New York that addresses the activities of the New York State Unified Court System. Webcasts of the address are available from 2002 onward.
New York State Court Help
Explains which court to utilize based on the type of legal problem (Family, Criminal, Civil, etc.)
Court Guides
These guides contain a wealth of information about the courts in your area & throughout New York State. This includes court descriptions, addresses, phone numbers, directions to the courthouses, hours of operation, and other useful information.
Court Structure Chart
Illustrates the structure of both the Civil Court and Criminal Court of New York State.

Local Government Information

Ulster County Government The Ulster County website includes legislative information and resolutions. The new county charter is also available.

The Village of New Paltz Village of New Paltz government and community resources. Department contact information, meeting agenda and minutes, a guide to tenants' rights and information on the history of New Paltz are included.

The Town of New Paltz Town of New Paltz government and community resources. It includes Boards, Committee, Commissions and town Departments. Town forms will also be available through this site soon.

Code of the Village of New Paltz Also available in the reference section of the Sojourner Truth Library under Call Number KFX1971.P34 A35 2002

New York State Association of Counties (NYSAC) This website is run by an organization that advocates for New York State Counties. The Counties section includes a basic information of each New York state county and a link to the county's homepage.

Mayors at a Glance Database Run by The U.S. Conference of Mayors, this database is a quick and easy way to find basic information on a specific mayor or to find who is the mayor of a specific town or city.

Public Access Law Libraries

Ulster County Law Library
The Ulster County Law Library is open to the public M-F 9am-4:45pm. They have reference services and a public access computer that has LexisNexis Legal and WestLaw.
Law Libraries Directory
A directory of law libraries in New York State, organized by county.
Law Library Materials Document Delivery Service
Library materials requested will be forwarded to your e-mail address. Generally, e-mail requests are filled within two (2) business days. Fax requests may result in a slight delay. Should an item be unavailable locally or online, you will be contacted. Should you request more than 4 documents per week, you may expect a delay in the processing of the request.
Catalog of the Trial Court Law Libraries

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz