LibGuides: Latin American Studies: Websites

Evaluating Websites

There are a lot of web sites on the Internet relevant to Latin American Studies. You need to be careful, however, as not all Web sites provide authoritative information.

Ask yourself the following questions when evaluating information on freely-available Web sites:

Who is the author of the page/site?

What are the credentials of the author (what qualifies him or her to write on the topic)?

Who sponsors the site?

What is the purpose of the site - To inform? To entertain?, To sell you something? To argue for a certain point of view?

Who is the intended audience?

Are the sources cited? Where did the author(s) get the information?

Can the information on the page be verified with other sources?

How current is the information?

For additional information on evaluating Web sites, look at:

Five criteria for evaluating Web pages from Cornell University

Websites

Americas (Latin American and Caribbean Center, Florida International University)
The hemisphere's information service for the 21st century.
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online(Library of Congress)
Latin American Library(Tulane Univ.)
Descriptions of the collections and links to the library websites of other libraries with major
Latin American collections.
Latin American Network Information Center
Maintained by the Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas, the Latin American Network Information Center provides information on and from Latin America. It has a searchable index, or you can search by country or by major subject. It has links in Spanish and in English.
Latin American Studies
oduced by the Latino Studies Department of Yale University, this page has links to World Wide Web resources for Latino Studies, Latino Studies Departments at colleges and universities, links to associations and organizations;newspapers and journals;libraries and archives;and other resources.
Roper Center
at University of Connecticut is the largest library of public opinion data in the world. The Latin American Survey Data Bank at the Roper Center for Public opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America.
The Political Database of the Americas
Maintained by Georgetown University, The Latin American Political Database provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and executive branch information and election data. You can choose to view it in English, Spanish or Portuguese.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz