LibGuides: Music: Musical Instruments

Which databases will help find information about a Musical Instrument?"

Oxford Music Online
The premier database for instruments, world regions, compositional techniques, composers and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias in all subjects. All full text!
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
A Visual Arts encyclopedia. Great for iconography research
ARTstor Digital Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital images and information about works of visual art, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many times and cultures. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.
NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online recordings of classical, jazz, world and folk musics, with liner notes and other supplementary texts
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 60,000 tracks of jazz from over 5,200 albums, with over 7,000 jazz artists represented. Access limited to four simultaneous users. Be sure to logout when finished with database.

If you had to score something "in the style of.." what tools would help you most? You may vote more than once!!

If you were asked to score a melody in a certain style, what tools would you need?

A biography of the person you want to sound like: 0 votes (0%)

Recordings of that person or ensemble: 11 votes (55%)

A knowledge of the instrumental techniques they used: 8 votes (40%)

Reviews of that person's performances: 1 votes (5%)

Total Votes: 20

Thesaurus of Orchestral Devices. Reference Collection MT70 R37 1969

ALSO: Search our catalog. Click "words in subject" to locate...

To find Instrumental Methods, search the catalog for an instrument, and add the words "instruction and study" e.g., violin instruction and study
To find historical studies of an instrument or ensemble, search for that instrument or ensemble as a subject. e.g., Oboe or Concerto
To find books about orchestration, look for "instrumentation and orchestration" as a subject
Don't forget the choir! Search for books about choral music by searching "choral music" as a subject