LibGuides: Francophone Cultures: Home

Reference Tools

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of encyclopedias, covering the social sciences and humanities. Formerly known as Sage Reference Online.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers, from all time periods and from around the world.

BasicSources

CIA World Factbook
The basics about countries of the world, including recent history, politics and economy.
The United Nations
Search for a wide variety of speeches, reports and statistics
UNESCO
The UN's educational and cultural arm.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
World Heath Organization
Oxfam
A confederation of organizations working to improve living conditions worldwide.

Catalog Search: What Happens when I type in..."

For Class Discussion

From Films On Demand

Films on Demand is one of the Library's databases.

Primary sources

General Francophone Resources

Francophonie.org

University of Illinois Urbana Links to Francophone Resources by Region

Juricaf: A growing database of court cases from Francophone countries

Canada

La Francophonie Canadienne

Quebec National Archive

Caribbean

Digital Library of the Caribbean

Caribbean Community Secretariat

Africa

Afrique Francophone: a metalist of links

Europe

Royal Library of Belgium

Eurodocs

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
This database replaces LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of digital images of artworks and other objects. JSTOR's image catalog includes almost everything previously held in Artstor, which will be retired in August of 2024.
ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of over 200,000 ebooks in various subjects from academic, professional, and trade publishers. Most e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of high-quality, streaming educational videos licensed from a long-established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, etc. Covers a wide range of subject areas.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz