LibGuides: Virginia Woolf: Ebooks!

Why Ebooks?

During this semester, the library is unable to provide access to its print collection: no browsing the Stacks, circulation or scanning & delivery (sorry!) Interlibrary Loan is not available until further notice, either.

Fortunately, we have more than 100k ebooks available on a range of subjects. You can find ebooks through our Search Our Library search tool or use the "native" databases. It's ll listed below but we welcome your questions at our Ask A Librarian site.

Many book publishers, like Bloomsbury, U. Michigan and MIT have made their eBooks available to support remote research. And there is a growing number of Open Access(OA) ebook publishers to check out, too. We link to those resources below, too.

How do I search for ebooks in Search Our Library?

To Search For an Ebook, use EITHER the Search Our Library Tab on our website (shown below) or search our Ebook Databases directly from the Databases Tab (see next box).

USE Search Our Library

Click the blue ADVANCED SEARCH Button
Type in a term. TIP: then select "Books/Ebooks" from the Material Type pull-down menu
See some results? Great! Now, select "Electronic Books" limit to the left of the results. It's usually found under Subject

OR... SEARCH OUR EBOOK DATABASES One at a Time! Why? Because you may get better results in the "native" databases than by using Search Our Library. Here are some Ebook options:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An online library of 180,000+ ebooks in a variety of subjects from academic, professional and trade publishers. Most of the e-books in Ebook Central are leased and may be removed from our subscription at the individual publisher's discretion. Future access to these ebooks is not guaranteed.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Electronic versions of books.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers, from all time periods and from around the world.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
Academic, peer-reviewed, open access books covering a wide variety of subjects.
ACLS Humanities E-book Project This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of over 5,000 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz

Virginia Woolf

Why Ebooks?

How do I search for ebooks in Search Our Library?

Sample Searches for e-titles in Search Our Library