LibGuides: American History: Find Articles

Article Databases

The following databases are your "best bets" for finding journal articles:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from 1684 through 1904. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of digital images of artworks and other objects. JSTOR's image catalog includes almost everything previously held in Artstor, which will be retired in August of 2024.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current, full-text news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
NOVELNY: New York Online Virtual Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
an online library available to every New Yorker, free of charge.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Many resources, including books, primary documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and more, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz

American History

History Journals

Article Databases