HIS 492 Seminar: Degeneration, Health, and Modernity (Stapell)

"Primary source documents can be letters, diaries, newspapers, speeches, interviews, memoirs, minutes, fliers, manifestos, reports, pamphlets, handbills, government documents, or other types of texts. They can be in the original -- often hand-written form and housed in a library's special collections department -- or published in print or online."

"However, books can also be a rich source of primary source material. In some instances, as in the case of published memoirs, autobiographies, and published documents, it is easy to determine when a book functions as a primary source. However, even secondary source materials can function as primary sources."

Maintained by Rutgers University, this site contains links to history associations and directories;general and subject-specific historical collections; historical documents, treaties, maps, statistics and bibliographies;and electronic texts by historic period.

Published by the European Studies Bibliographer at Brigham Young University, this site provides links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Although some of the documents are in its original language, much of the material has bene translated. The documents are searchable by country.

The National Archives is the UK government's official archive, containing 900 years of history with records ranging from parchment and paper scrolls to digital files and archived websites. The National Archives makes open records available to all