Skip to Main Content
Research Guides Databases A-Z Library Catalog Ask a Librarian Library Home Page SUNY New Paltz

ENG493 The Gothic (Mayer)

This guide provides resources and information to assist with the research paper for Professor Mayer's ENG493 course.

What is Academic Research?

Research is a process of investigation or examination using different points of views. You probably already do research every day when you Google something of interest or read a Wikipedia page.

There are a few differences between the research you do on your own and the research you are expected to do for this class. 

  1. You're being graded.
  2. Assignment guidelines and requirements that you need to follow.
  3. You have access to a wealth of specialized resources through the library that you pay for through tuition and fees. 

Researching can be quite frustrating. Research is not linear - you may need to go back and try new search strategies. The next tab focuses on search strategies that you can use. 

If you ever need help, come into the library or email me. We can talk about your research one-on-one and brainstorm search strategies together. 

What Makes Library Databases Different from Google?

You may be thinking to yourself "Is a library database the same thing as Google?" Yes and no... 

Search engines, such as Google, search the web for freely available information. Google can be considered a database since it contains a collection of searchable information. Just like a library database, Google contains tons of information but the information is a little different. Information can include:

  • personal blogs
  • newspaper articles
  • videos
  • commercial and company sites
  • academic and scholarly articles
  • social media

Library databases contain really specific information that are meant to support your education and coursework at SUNY New Paltz. Google contains all sorts of information which makes it a good place to start your research, but don't stop your research process there. 

When you search for something in Google you get thousands of results. Some of which are sponsored or promotional results - meaning a company is paying Google to promote their information/service. You may also notice that Google sometimes gives you different results. That is because Google uses algorithms (computer programs) to sort through information based on your location and your recent search activity. Check out Google's information page about the algorithms they use. Library databases don't do that. Since all the information found in a library database is organized by subject terms and keywords, library databases uses the keywords you put into the search bar to find you information. 

You Participate in Scholarly/Academic Discourse!

You participate in scholarly conversations all the time. Scholarly conversations include engaging with research in your courses through papers and presentations, sharing research on social media, and informally discussing research with friends and family.

These conversations involve finding and evaluating sources that are written by people who have extensive knowledge and education within the field. Depending on what subject and specific topic you are exploring, there might be different "authoritative voices" you will engage with. No matter what sources you find and use, always cite your sources. By citing your sources you are acknowledging who has helped you understand a subject and come to your own conclusions.

Subjects: English