LibGuides: ARH382 American Art (Carso): Find Articles

Searching for articles in "Search Our Library"

This video talks about how to search for articles using the "Search our Libraries" tool. It covers tips on how to search more broadly and narrow results, and how to read a results list to identify articles that may actually be useful to you.

Art Databases

While "Search our Libraries" is a good place to go to search nearly ALL the article databases we have, if you are getting too many results you may choose to search in a few specific databases that have good coverage of Art History or American History. Below are a few options to try out.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting and full-text coverage of academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, as well as books. The database also provides an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and sciences, starting with the first issues.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. & Canadian history; prehistory to present
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
art history; european & american coverage

Newpapers: Reviews and Interviews

Searching historical newspapers can sometimes allow you to find relevant articles or reviews of an exhibitions during the time your artist was actually working.

Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for articles published before 2005.

Where is this article?

If your selected database record does not contain an HTML or PDF option:

To get to the full-text of the article, click on the button next to the reference.

No button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.

If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.

If we don't have access to an article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz