LibGuides: Art (Studio) Guide: Find Streaming Video

Documentary segments and interviews with contemporary artists

How far can an artist bend without breaking? Installation and performance artist Aki Sasamoto unwinds the logic of her latest work, Yield Point (2017), finding unexpected connections between the tension of stretched materials and the stresses we experience in everyday life. “Lately, I notice that I’m [feeling] super stretched and tired—trying to do a day job and trying to do art—so I was interested in how much one can push yourself,” says the artist. “That’s why I went to thinking about elasticity and testing that limit.”

Art21
A documentary series offered through PBS, Art21 provides freely available short documentaries on contemporary artists featuring interviews and studio visits. To see if there are clips for a specific artist, follow the link to "Artists" from the homepage for a full index.

Film Databases through the Library

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is a database with over 70,000 educational videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, and field recordings. The collection covers all major subject areas and provides useful features such as the ability to create custom clips and playlists that can be shared with other users. Available through SUNYConnect.
Films on Demand
A comprehensive collection of high-quality, streaming educational videos licensed from a long-established educational media distributor (Films for the Humanities and Sciences). Other content providers for Films on Demand include Davidson Films, California Newsreel, PBS, etc. Covers a wide range of subject areas.
Kanopy
We buy specific films through Kanopy but do not have the full library. If there is a specific film you'd like to have access to, contact the Collection Development Librarian, Madeline Veitch

Online media and performance art

Electronic Arts Intermix
Founded in 1971, EAI is a nonprofit resource that fosters the creation, exhibition,
distribution and preservation of media art.
UbuWeb
A multimedia, interdisciplinary resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive Video Collection
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Student Art Association Art Lecture Series (filmed on campus)

The above screen shot is from a lecture given by printmaker Nancy Diessner in 2016 as part of the Student Art Association's Art Lecture Series.

SUNY New Paltz Art Lecture Series
View streaming video footage of over 200 artist lectures given at New Paltz over the last 20 years.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz