BUS 431 Cross-Cultural Management (Vora)

From the US State Department. Facts sheets by country that focus on US relations with the country and other diplomatic issues. These brief reports includes US embassies and ambassadors, US economic assistance programs, and participation in treaties and international organizations. Provide extensive links to other government reports and data about the country.

"a community built guide to cross-cultural etiquette & understanding" with detailed guides for individual countries.

The Economist Intelligence Unit’s Democracy Index provides a snapshot of the state of democracy worldwide. Ratings are Full Democracies, Flawed Democracies, Hybrid Regimes or Authoritarian Regimes.

From the Fraser Institute. Contains Country Data Tables & reports on World economic freedom, investment & growth.

Their annual Freedom in the World report assesses the state of freedom in various countries.

Extremely useful portal offering the history, government, economy, statistics, and corporations of individual countries. Links to key Internet resources and articles about the country. Also check out the Global Resource Directory for links to multiple country sources for statistics, trade, ranking, etc.

Index of economic freedom from the Heritage Foundation. Search by country name for a detailed report.

IMF Staff Country Reports provide detailed economic and financial information for individual countries. These reports are now available online going back to 1997.

The Guides to Doing Business are prepared by Lex Mundi's member firms and provide a comprehensive overview of the legal and business environments in more than 100 jurisdictions worldwide. They can serve as a useful resource tool when planning an international business strategy or researching a new business market. [from LexMundi website]

From the web site: "The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement."

The World Factbook contains overview information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information on government, economy, communications, transnational issues, and more, are updated every two weeks.

Comprare Hofstede scores for 6 dimensions for different countries.

View short videos discussing each dimension.

International energy information, including overviews, rankings, data, and analyses.

Data about EU member countries, candidate countries, and the EFTA. Statistics from 9 "themes" including general/regional, economy/finance, population/social conditions, industry/trade, agriculture/fisheries, external trade, transport, environment/energy, and science/technology.

Food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.

The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a data catalog and is keyword searchable. Provides country profiles.

An open platform for sharing humanitarian data across crises and organizations. Managed by the Centre for Humanitarian Data at OCHA, part of the United Nations Secretariat.

The world's leading source on labor statistics. Provides yearly data on topics like total and economically active population, employment, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, and strikes and walkouts. Includes household income and expenditures.

The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct, online access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools.

International energy data, including coal, electricity, natural gas, oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research, and global energy balances and forecasts.

World and regional statistics, national data, maps, and rankings. Includes country profiles.

The KOF Globalisation Index measures the economic, social and political dimensions of globalisation.

This collection from the Ivy Plus Libraries aims to preserve country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more.

OECD provides comparable statistics, and economic and social data of member nations. As well as collecting data, OECD monitors trends, analyses and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade and environment.

Includes links to international statistical agencies and national statistical agencies of other countries

UNdata brings together data from many different sources into a single search interface. Among the main data sources are the UN Statistics Division's own databases in merchandise trade, national accounts, demography, energy, status of women and industrial commodities production; and statistics from the Population Division, the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs' Project Link, FAO, ILO, IMF, ITU, OECD, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, World Bank and World Tourism Organization, among others.

Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.

Statistical information from core UNICEF studies, as well as the data (& datasets) from its supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS); a major source of global development data.

Free and open access to global development data

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

The International Data Base (IDB) was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s. The IDB provides estimates and projections for 228 countries and areas which have populations of 5,000 or more and as recognized by the U.S. Department of State.

The NationMaster database is a collection of world statistics. Search by category or country to see rankings in over 5000 categories. See which country has the most soldiers or is the most generous or drinks the most bottled water.

Global demographics by country, as well as education, income, health, housing, and labor data.

Data from the UN's refugee agency on populations of concern, displacement and resettlement rates, etc

This web site is a portal for a variety of UN statistics and publications, including the Demographic Yearbook.

This site developed by Cornell Law School provides an easy to use format to find legal documents and information.

A free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility providing access to 1834 databases from 123 jurisdictions via 14 Legal Information Institutes including the Cornell Legal Information Institute.

From the World Development Indicators, The World Bank

From the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation from the University of Washington.

Data visualization tool providing a snapshot of the SDG Agenda in specific countries.

Provides access to data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries across the globe by indicator, country, region, or time period

Data from the global SDG Indicators database. Data can be browsed by individual sustainable development goals.

Aggregates at the country level. Based on 17 key sustainability criteria drawn from multiple World Bank databases and external data providers, it provides a collection of indicators for sustainable investment analysis.

Portal to international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health and GDP.

Country profiles covering status of/participation in international human rights treaties and bodies.

1993+. Reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights. Prepared by U.S. Department of State for Congress.

"Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights."

The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

A World Bank Group project collecting data on the laws and regulations that affect women’s economic opportunity.

From the Human Development Reports. Formerly the Gender-related Development Index (GDI) and the Gender Empowerment Measure (GEM).

UN Women is the United Nations entity dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. UN Women supports UN Member States as they set global standards for achieving gender equality, and works with governments and civil society to design laws, policies, programmes and services needed to ensure that the standards are effectively implemented and truly benefit women and girls worldwide. Progress of the World’s Women is UN Women's flagship annual report. Includes regional fact sheets and data. Annex 5 covers Laws and legal frameworks.

Unique indicators such as Gender empowerment measure (GEM) rank, Gender empowerment measure (GEM) value, Gender-related development index (GDI) rank, Gender-related development index (GDI) value, Inequality in income or expenditure.

Compiled by Rangita de Silva-de Alwis, SJD, the Senior Advisor on International Programs at the Wellesley Centers for Women, who has conducted research and has provided technical assistance to global partners on gender equality laws and domestic violence laws from around the world.

The International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association.

Country profiles from Human Rights Watch with links to anti-LGBTQ laws and Human Rights Watch reporting.

Includes country and comparative data, including many country profiles (with links) and US trends.

Information sharing portals with data about UNHCR and partners’ response to the current emergencies and other protracted refugee crises.