|Research Guides||Databases A-Z||Library Catalog||Ask a Librarian||Library Home Page||SUNY New Paltz|
Library article databases are indexes that allow users to search for articles from various publications and/or periodicals (journals, newspapers, or magazines).
The description of an article found in a database commonly consists of 3 main parts:
Scholarly journals published by professional associations or a university press will have a panel of scholars who evaluate articles submitted for publication. In other words, these editorial panels are comprised of the author's peers.
If an article is approved for publication the panel has agreed that the article will advance the thinking within the discipline. Thus, articles accepted for publication would then be considered peer reviewed.
Use the databases shown here to find references to articles about your topic.
To get to the full-text of the article, click on the button next to the reference.
No button? Some databases, instead, show their own links to the html or pdf versions.
If there are no links (and no ), then copy down the bibliographic information (author, journal title, year, volume, pages) and search our journals to see if we have a print version of the journal.
If we don't have access to an article, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Films On Demand contain over 5,000 streaming videos provided by the Films Media Group. These educational videos may be watched on your computer anywhere you have Internet service, 24 hours a day. Videos can be browsed by subject or title. The library owns four collections: Business & Economics, Health, Humanities & Social Sciences, and Sciences.