English Short Title Catalog

The easiest way to understand how much of the ESTC is readily available at the Sojourner Truth Library is to look at the total number of microfilm reels in our possession in relation to the total number of microfilm reels that make up the entire ESTC collection. 

First, let's take a look at the Short Title Catalogue I, which contains sources that were published between 1475-1640.  The entire Short Title Catalogue I consists of approximately 2,200 reels of microfilm, containing over 30,000 titles within those microfilm reels. The Short Title Catalogue is a growing, ongoing collection, which means that the current number of 2,200 reels of microfilm will gradually increase over time.

Here at the Sojourner Truth Library, we are in possession of reels 1-1,590 out of the total 2,200 reels of microfilm that contain the complete Short Title Catalogue I.  So as it currently stands, while we do not own the complete STC I in our collection, we do have a majority of the entire run of microfilm reels that contain the complete STC I.  An important fact to be aware of is that while the actual STC I catalogue will grow over time as more and more titles are added to the catalogue, our collection will remain static and only consist of the first 1,590 reels of microfilm.

There is also the Short Title Catalogue II, which covers sources that were published between 1641-1700.  The entire Short Title Catalog II consists of approximately 2,800 reels of microfilm, containing over 64,000 titles.  Similar to the STC I, the STC II is also a growing collection, so more reels of microfilm will eventually be added to the catalogue over time.

Of the 2,800 reels of microfilm that contain the complete STC II catalogue, the Sojourner Truth Library is only in possession of reels 1-79, or roughly 3% of the entire collection.  While we only have a small portion of the entire STC II collection, if you are looking for a title from the STC II, still search either the ESTC Online Catalogue or the printed indexes for the item.  If by chance the title you are looking for is located between microfilm reels 1-79, then we will have access to the material.  At the same time, it is important to understand that in all likelihood we will not have the STC II microfilm reel that contains your desired title.