THE 240 History of World Dress (Varga)

This collection contains works of art and related materials from the permanent collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Individual records often include detailed information about objects as well as images. Searchable by keywords; try searching for a type of garment to see historical examples.

The Victoria and Albert Museum has a large collection of photographs of their fashion and textile collections. You can search using keywords, view, and download images. Curators have also provided useful description of the piece in context.

Features content from over 1200 museums and archives.

Explore the stories of the clothes we wear with 30,000 fashion pieces from more than 180 museums and organizations of fashion around the world.

A compilation of links to various costume and textile collections that are available online.

Access to objects in the British Museum collection. Use Advanced Search to search by criteria including object type, technique, and culture.

Includes objects from the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s collection, spanning thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design. In the "Explore the Collection" drop down at the top of the web page, you can browse by countries or departments (including textiles).

Search MoMA's collection of modern and contemporary art. Do a keyword search or filter by classification (including textiles) to browse.

Explore items from the Museum at FIT's collection, organized by time period.

Online exhibits related to women's history, including "Fashioning Yourself!"

Clothing and dress related items in the museum's collection. Check out the limiters on the left side to focus on date ranges, object type, or select topics including music, activism, and culture.