LibGuides: THE 240 History of World Dress (Varga): Get Started with Reference Works

Selected Reference Books

Browse or search these volumes to find the definitions of certain terms and short articles on types of dress (e.g. bustle, exercise clothing) or forces acting on clothing and dress (gender roles, regions, cultural associations).

Many encyclopedia entries will provide bibliographies that lead you to additional sources!

Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Joanne Bubolz Eicher
Call Number: Reference Collection GT507 .E54 2010
The Fashion Resource Book: Men
Call Number: Reference Collection TT617 .L39 2014
World Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Reference Collection GT507 .S6 2014
The Dictionary of Fashion History
Call Number: Reference Collection GT507 .C86 2010
Fashion: the whole story
Call Number: Reference Collection TT504 .F36 2013

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search full-text articles from the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art to find information about individual artists, art movements, and techniques. Access limited to eight simultaneous users.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text entries from encyclopedias and reference works for multidisciplinary and subject-specific research in areas such as social sciences, education, business, psychology, art, history, etc.

Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787693008
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780684314518
Contemporary Fashion
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781558623484

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz