LibGuides: Sustainability: Water

Books

To locate books on sustainability and water resources, try using some of these subject terms:

water resources development
water-supply
water rights
water conservation
water pollution
stream conservation
water harvesting
water pollution

For a long list of resources on sustainable water systems and resources, click HERE, or browse through some of the following books:

Blue Future : protecting water for people and the planet forever by Maude Barlow
Call Number: HD1691 .B3665 2014
ISBN: 9781595589477
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Blue Future: protecting water for people and the planet forever by Maude Barlow
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781595589477
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Chemistry and Water: the science behind sustaining the world’s most crucial resource by Satinder Ahuja
Call Number: Stacks TD370 .C495 2017
ISBN: 9780128093306
Publication Date: 2016-11-28
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan
Call Number: Stacks QH104.5.G7 E43 2017
ISBN: 9780393246438
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
High and Dry: meeting the challenges of the world’s growing dependence on groundwater by William M. Alley; Rosemarie Alley
Call Number: Stacks TD403 .A39 2017
ISBN: 9780300220384
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
The Poisoned City: Flint's water and the American urban tragedy by Anna Clark
Call Number: Stacks RA591 .C53 2018
ISBN: 9781250125149
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
A Thirsty Land: the making of an American water crisis by Seamus McGraw
Call Number: Stacks HD1694.T4 M34 2018
ISBN: 9781477310311
Publication Date: 2018-05-09
Water 4.0: the Past, Present, and Future of the World’s Most Vital Resource by David Sedlak
Call Number: GB659.6 .S44 2014

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all subject areas.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides overviews of topics, including arguments on multiple sides of an issue. In addition to original essays, includes articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio/TV transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the user interface to a few databases that identify articles, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow, and Retrosynthesis Plan. Important: New Paltz users must register (and use your SUNY New Paltz e-mail address) before accessing the database. In order to use the database, you need to register and create a username and password.

Journals

Websites

New York State Water Resources Institute
The NYS Water Resources Institute collaborates with regional, state, and national partners to increase awareness of emerging water resources issues and to develop and assess new water management technologies and policies.
United States Geological Survey (USGS): New York Water Science Center
"The USGS New York Water Science Center operates the most extensive satellite network of stream- and tide-gaging stations in the state, many of which form the backbone of flood-warning systems. The USGS provides current ("real-time") stream stage and surface-water, water-quality, and groundwater levels for over 300 sites in New York."
NYS Dept. of Environmental Conservation: Lakes and Rivers of New York State
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS): Water Resources of the United States
"The USGS collects information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and provides access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events."
Environmental Protection Agency: Water
This searchable database of reports, programs, and statistics includes data on waste-water management, wetlands & watersheds, and drinking & groundwater testing.
United Nations Environment Programme: Water
"The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has worked to promote sustainable water resources management practices through collaborative approaches at the national, regional and global levels." Site includes open access to reports and publications, and regional and global policy documents.

Library Guides & Databases
Research Guides	Databases A-Z	Library Catalog	Ask a Librarian	Library Home Page	SUNY New Paltz