SAB330/SAB550 Doing Business in Spain [Vora]

From the US State Department. Facts sheets by country that focus on US relations with the country and other diplomatic issues. These brief reports includes US embassies and ambassadors, US economic assistance programs, and participation in treaties and international organizations. Provide extensive links to other government reports and data about the country.

The World Factbook contains overview information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information on government, economy, communications, transnational issues, and more, are updated every two weeks.

The Country Studies series is a standard reference source for information about developed and developing nations alike. There are currently 85 detailed Country Studies available on this web site. Includes maps and charts and is completely searchable.

"a community built guide to cross-cultural etiquette & understanding" with detailed guides for individual countries.

Trade Rankings reports rank US port and ocean-going carriers. Tops in Trade reports provide the top shippers, consignees and carriers. Quick Look reports measure various impacts on trade. Commercial Opportunity reports offer analysis and current trade statistics on select markets.

World development and environment information on countries and regions in Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East and North Africa. Includes Eldis-produced reports and links to information produced by other international agencies such as the UN, Amnesty International, the World Bank, etc.

Energy data and analysis for 215 countries. Use the map or list to select your country or region. Countries with bold font in the list have analysis briefs available.

Links to current and past guides including the Worldwide Corporate Tax Guide, the Worldwide VAT, GST and Sales Tax Guide, and the Worldwide Personal Tax Guide.

Official website of the European Union

Data about EU member countries, candidate countries, and the EFTA. Statistics from 9 "themes" including general/regional, economy/finance, population/social conditions, industry/trade, agriculture/fisheries, external trade, transport, environment/energy, and science/technology.

Access to the US Department of Commerce's Market Research Library which includes Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Reports, and Best Market Reports as well as import/export statistics, information on trade regulations, standards, and certification requirements. Students and researchers may register for a free account.

Extremely useful portal offering the history, government, economy, statistics, and corporations of individual countries. Links to key Internet resources and articles about the country. Also check out the Global Resource Directory for links to multiple country sources for statistics, trade, ranking, etc.

IMF Staff Country Reports provide detailed economic and financial information for individual countries. These reports are now available online going back to 1997.

The International Data Base presents demographic and socioeconomic statistics compiled by the Census Bureau's International Programs Center (IPC) for 228 countries going back to 1950.

The US Census Bureau provides links to statistical agencies of many foreign countries. Some are only available in the national language, but most have an English option.

Links to UN bodies dealing with international trade, including the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), UN Environment Programme, and International Trade Centre.

Produced by the member law firms of Lexwork International, this Compendium provides trade law summaries for over 30 jurisdictions prepared by law firms located there. Includes most significant US trading partners. An excellent resource for companies intending to do business in foreign countries and some US states.

"country-specific information and assessments ... on investment laws, measures, and other factors that may be useful in making business decisions." Prepared by Economic Officers at U.S. State Department overseas posts.

Labor statistics from over 200 countries and territories from 1969 to the present. Provides yearly data on topics like total and economically active population, employment, household income, household expenditures, unemployment, hours of work, wages, labor cost, consumer price indices, occupational injuries, and strikes and walkouts. Data may be viewed or downloaded.

Search by country to access the Country Commercial Guide, which discusses doing business in those countries.

Publications include global and local market reports highlighting trends in international real estate.

The NationMaster database is a collection of world statistics. Search by category or country to see rankings in over 5000 categories. See which country has the most soldiers or is the most generous or drinks the most bottled water.

OECD provides comparable statistics, and economic and social data of member nations. As well as collecting data, OECD monitors trends, analyses and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade and environment.

Interactive tool to create a visual depictions of country statistical information from the annual OECD Factbook. Covers over 200 indicators on topics such as population and migration, production, income, globalization, prices, energy, labor, science/technology, education, public finance, quality of life, and inequality.

The USTR negotiates directly with foreign governments to create trade agreements, resolve disputes and participate in global trade policy organizations. Website includes trade agreements and information on trade in different world regions and sectors.

A wealth of statistical information along with hundreds of data series are available for the countries of the world.

Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.

Export resources to assist US business in participating in the growing global marketplace.

Country profiles prepared by World Bank staff are available for 157 nations. The web site also includes a section on Doing Business in different countries covering topics such as starting a business, hiring and firing workers, registering property, getting credit, protecting investors, enforcing contracts, and closing a business.

The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators for over 200 countries around the world, including hundreds that go back 50 years.

The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world.

From the web site: "The Doing Business database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement."

The official website of the WTO includes news, legal documents, statistics, and information about the members of the organization.

Enter "doing business" (using quotation marks) in Search box to find reports on doing business in other countries.

Click the Library link at the top of the page to look for reports on the desired country. Once on the library page, you can type "doing business" in the Search box to locate reports.

Maintained by Deloitte's Chinese Services Group, this site provides information on current business developments, regular updates on China's tax and regulatory environment as well as insightful papers on investing in China.

Click the "Publications" tab to see "Doing Business in..." country guides as well as international tax alerts and guides.

Click the "Publications" tab to see "Doing Business in..." and tax guides for various countries.

Select "Resources" than "Country Guides" to see the "MGI Doing Business in" guides. Each report covers: country overview, business environment, business entities, foreign investment and trade, banking and finance, audit and accounting, taxation, confidentiality and diligence against criminal activities.

The Guides to Doing Business are prepared by Lex Mundi's member firms and provide a comprehensive overview of the legal and business environments in more than 100 jurisdictions worldwide. They can serve as a useful resource tool when planning an international business strategy or researching a new business market. [from LexMundi website]

Provides daily rates going back to 1971.

This site provides historical rates by year. It was developed by two economics professors.